the home of the turntable

Dual 1215S cartridge set up alignment

snap, crackle and pop

Dual 1215S cartridge set up alignment

Postby bbus » 20 Oct 2014 22:29

Hello, just picked up a Dual 1215S. It is in beautiful original condition. I have a lot of experience with restoring tube era equipment and changers but this is my first Dual-more modern unit.

Changer still has what appears to be the original Shure M91E on it. It works excellent after I cleaned up the connections and pins. One thing that I was curious about was proper placement of the cart in the head shell. I have heard that Dual made a small plastic adapter to fit over the head shell to line up the cart and needle. Is this a MUST or can I use some other method. I downloaded an alignment protractor but not sure how this helps with proper cart placement front to back.

Thanks
T
bbus

Re: Dual 1215S cartridge set up alignment

Postby BrianMcAllister » 21 Oct 2014 01:24

Todd,

I can find no info on 1015S, only 1015 and 1015F. It occurs to me that the S may signify that it was actually supplied with a Shure cartridge from the factory, rather than without cartridge as most Dual TTs were. In that case no adjustment is usually required, or even possible. If the cartridge carrier is the standard TK12, then the easiest way to adjust the cartridge position is with the plastic gauge.

Here is a link to a sold listing for a couple to give you an idea what they sell for. There is also a new aftermarket replica that goes for $30.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Dual-TK-12-Head ... 7675.l2557

I see no current listings for any.

If you find that you need one, contact me on ARF, where we both hang out.

Brian
BrianMcAllister

Postby JoeE SP9 » 21 Oct 2014 02:42

Using an alignment protractor assures proper cartridge alignment in every way. It assures proper overhang and tangency at the null points.