How much is a Sansui sr-737 worth?

snap, crackle and pop
melissa_mcl
United States of America

How much is a Sansui sr-737 worth?

Post by melissa_mcl » 26 Jan 2020 20:52

Hello all,

I am very new to turntables, and I am trying to buy one. I am wondering how much money a Sansui SR-737 is worth. I've been able to find information on other Sansui models, but this one seems elusive... It comes with a Yamaha a-40 amplifier, and is being sold for $150. Is this a good deal?

Thanks!

terry-a
long player
long player

Re: How much is a Sansui sr-737 worth?

Post by terry-a » 26 Jan 2020 21:00

If it all works properly I would say yes. The table was built when Sansui made beautiful direct drive turntables. I believe this one may not be quartz controlled, but I wouldn't concern myself with that at this price point if everything is working.

You will obviously need speakers. The amp will need a phono input or else you'll need a phono pre-amp. The cartridge or stylus may need to be replaced.

Have you seen and heard this turntable and amp in operation?

See this page: https://www.vinylengine.com/library/sansui/sr-737.shtml

melissa_mcl
United States of America

Post by melissa_mcl » 26 Jan 2020 21:18

That's awesome to hear. I have some speakers at my house that I think would work - they are currently connected to a cd changer.

I am a bit confused with the whole amp / phono pre-amp thing. I know that a phono pre-amp amplifies the sound to something that speakers can detect, but can the Yamaha a-40 amplifier do the same thing? The seller said it will likely need a new cartridge.

I haven't seen it yet. It's being sold online. Is there anything I should look for when picking it up? I'm not sure if I'll be able to see it in operation, but the seller says they are both in working condition.

Thanks for the link!

terry-a
long player
long player

Post by terry-a » 26 Jan 2020 21:36