Newbie looking for help with Admiral turntable restore

snap, crackle and pop
XOMR
United States of America

Newbie looking for help with Admiral turntable restore

Post by XOMR » 25 Jan 2020 23:26

Hello,

Newbie to forums and vintage turntables and I recently dumpster-dove this Admiral turntable:
IMG_20191115_165342~2.jpg
(18.03 KiB) Downloaded 53 times
IMG_20191115_135725.jpg
(132.84 KiB) Downloaded 50 times
The platter spins and the needle works but there's no amplified sound so something upstream of the stylus is busted. I'd like to restore but before I take it apart and go after it all I want to make sure the mechanics of the turntable and record changer are in proper working condition. I'm new to record changers and am trying to figure out if it all works.

My first question is what should the REJ do switch in relationship to the overarms location? Currently with it deployed (over the record) it will drop another record onto the table and then switch itself off. With it not deployed, the tonearm lifts up pivots off the table while the spindle will retract (as if to drop another record), and the tonearm will pivot back setting down on the table. These seem backwards to me.

My second question is when I have the turntable set to replay a record (overarm not deployed) when the tonearm reaches the end of the record it retracts then resets itself but at the beginning of what would be a 10" LP, not a 12". (Same placement as the REJ switch mentioned above.) Is there something I could tweak so it knows the difference between a 10" or 12" or is this particular model designed for 10" records?

Thanks very much everyone. Appreciate any insight or suggestions you might have.

XOMR

musicmn
long player
long player
United States of America

Re: Newbie looking for help with Admiral turntable restore

Post by musicmn » 26 Jan 2020 00:29