power transformer Technics 1600 mk2 at 100 volt

snap, crackle and pop
fitarro
junior member
junior member
Posts: 10
Joined: 21 Sep 2016 20:29

power transformer Technics 1600 mk2 at 100 volt

Post by fitarro » 10 Jan 2020 23:51

Hi
My turntable is the Technics 1600 mk2 at 100 volt (Japanese market)
unfortunately by mistake this was connected to the output of the receivers that delivered more volt so that now when operating the area of the power transformer is heated.
I think this is damaged so I'm looking for a replacement power transformer
Does anyone sell or know where I can find one?
I hope you can help me
cheers from chile

Shinden
junior member
junior member
France
Posts: 13
Joined: 16 Feb 2019 17:03

Re: power transformer Technics 1600 mk2 at 100 volt

Post by Shinden » 11 Jan 2020 08:12

https://airlinktransformers.com/categor ... converters

Sadly, you'll have to pay the vat but they're good quality. For the internal transformer of the technics, the best solution though expensive is to ask a company to repair it.

Best regards.

paddypaws
member
member
England
Posts: 104
Joined: 21 Nov 2018 23:04

Re: power transformer Technics 1600 mk2 at 100 volt

Post by paddypaws » 11 Jan 2020 09:27

It’s hard to find the original transformer. You can use any cheap generic -16- 0- +16v transformer. Use +16 and -16 wires for the 32v and 0 + 16v wires for the 23v . You can do this as the 23 v goes straight to a bridge rectifier and 12v regulator on the control board.

fitarro
junior member
junior member
Posts: 10
Joined: 21 Sep 2016 20:29

Re: power transformer Technics 1600 mk2 at 100 volt

Post by fitarro » 11 Jan 2020 18:15

thank you very much for your help
I think I'll look for the option to have the power transformer repaired
I have a doubt ... the power transformer of the same turntable but of European origin that is 110-120 / 220-240v can I install it to my TT?
I appreciate your help

paddypaws
member
member
England
Posts: 104
Joined: 21 Nov 2018 23:04

Re: power transformer Technics 1600 mk2 at 100 volt

Post by paddypaws » 11 Jan 2020 19:16

Yes you can use the European one but make sure you wire it to the 100/120v tap on the transformer. As mentioned a generally available 100v to 16 -0- 16 will be fine.

fitarro
junior member
junior member
Posts: 10
Joined: 21 Sep 2016 20:29

Re: power transformer Technics 1600 mk2 at 100 volt

Post by fitarro » 13 Jan 2020 02:11

thank you very much paddypaws for the help
unfortunately I don't understand much about electronics
but I will look for info in the manual to try to solve the problem as you tell me

Coffee Phil
vinyl addict
vinyl addict
United States of America
Posts: 5830
Joined: 20 Sep 2008 08:22
Location: California

Re: power transformer Technics 1600 mk2 at 100 volt

Post by Coffee Phil » 13 Jan 2020 17:31

Hi Fitarro

What is the mains voltage where you live? Are you sure your OEM transformer is fried, or is it just getting hot?

With a small HVAC transformer you can construct a step-down auto-transformer to supply 100 Volts to your turntable.

Phil

fitarro wrote:
10 Jan 2020 23:51
Hi
My turntable is the Technics 1600 mk2 at 100 volt (Japanese market)
unfortunately by mistake this was connected to the output of the receivers that delivered more volt so that now when operating the area of the power transformer is heated.
I think this is damaged so I'm looking for a replacement power transformer
Does anyone sell or know where I can find one?
I hope you can help me
cheers from chile

fitarro
junior member
junior member
Posts: 10
Joined: 21 Sep 2016 20:29

Re: power transformer Technics 1600 mk2 at 100 volt

Post by fitarro » 13 Jan 2020 21:21

hi cofee phil
The area where the power transformer is installed is heated
When I bought the turntable in Japan, it didn't get hot even when I had it working hours.
When it started to warm up, it was when I realized that the receiver was delivering more voltage (120 volt). now I have it connected to a transformer that delivers just 100 volts and the problem still persists
That's why I think this is the problem.

Coffee Phil
vinyl addict
vinyl addict
United States of America
Posts: 5830
Joined: 20 Sep 2008 08:22
Location: California

Re: power transformer Technics 1600 mk2 at 100 volt

Post by Coffee Phil » 14 Jan 2020 18:26

Hi fitarro,

This is getting a bit complicated. I believe that you are in Chile where the mains is 240 Volts 50 Hz. Is this correct?

If you applied 240 volts to the 100 volt transformer I can easily imagine that the transformer is damaged. It is also possible that some of the electronics after the transformers (such as the voltage regulators) could be damaged.

Does the machine work? If it works yet the transformer gets hot it is possible that just the transformer is damaged.

I have been looking at the schematic in the library. The configuration is weird in that there are two bridge rectifiers fed from the transformer and the bridges are connected together with some unknown AC voltage between them. I tend to think the schematic is in error, but unless we can sort this out my guess is that you need to get the correct transformer for your voltage and match the colors of the leads connecting the secondary winding.

Organ Donor may be a good place to start: https://organdonorparts.com/

Phil
fitarro wrote:
13 Jan 2020 21:21
hi cofee phil
The area where the power transformer is installed is heated
When I bought the turntable in Japan, it didn't get hot even when I had it working hours.
When it started to warm up, it was when I realized that the receiver was delivering more voltage (120 volt). now I have it connected to a transformer that delivers just 100 volts and the problem still persists
That's why I think this is the problem.

fitarro
junior member
junior member
Posts: 10
Joined: 21 Sep 2016 20:29

Re: power transformer Technics 1600 mk2 at 100 volt

Post by fitarro » 15 Jan 2020 00:09

Hello again phil
  in Chile is 220 volts at 50 Hz
Sorry if I did not comment before but to connect the turntable I have a transformer that converts 220 volt / 100 volt to 50 hz so there is no problem with this.
As I told you before, my mistake at the beginning was to connect the turntable to the AC outlet of my receivers which delivers 120volt, I think the power trasnformer was damaged there.
the turntable still works perfectly only if the area of the transformer heats up even warms the matt of the plate.
I hope it's just the transformer
I will keep looking for solutions
I really appreciate your help

georgesgiralt
senior member
senior member
France
Posts: 283
Joined: 05 Mar 2019 08:44

Re: power transformer Technics 1600 mk2 at 100 volt

Post by georgesgiralt » 15 Jan 2020 05:46

" in Chile is 220 volts at 50 Hz
Sorry if I did not comment before but to connect the turntable I have a transformer that converts 220 volt / 100 volt to 50 hz so there is no problem with this."
Hello,
Have you checked this ? Are you sure you are feeding the turntable with 100 V ? Last but not least, is Japan at 50 Hz also or 60 Hz ?
If you fed a transformer devised for 60 Hz with 50 Hz, it will get hot even if the voltage is correct.
You do not give any detail about the step down converter, but those are often 1/2 ratio, so you are feeding 110 V to the turntable.
Buy a cheap multi meter at your nearest DIY store and measure the AC going out of the step down device with and witout load. Look at the turntable identification plate to see if it needs 50 or 60 Hz mains and report back.

P.S. : The original transformer is potted. This is mandatory for getting the security agreement. So it won't be easily reparable, but a transformer maker can make a duplicate suited for your main voltage (and frequency) which will fit in the turntable. You have to show him the old transformer for him to mach the mechanical size/mounting. To find such a guy, ask the people repairing electrical motors (see in the yellow pages).
Just my 2¢

Coffee Phil
vinyl addict
vinyl addict
United States of America
Posts: 5830
Joined: 20 Sep 2008 08:22
Location: California

Re: power transformer Technics 1600 mk2 at 100 volt

Post by Coffee Phil » 15 Jan 2020 07:23

Hi georgegiralt,

Japan is unique in that some parts are 50 Hz and other parts are 60 Hz. I’m guessing that the transformer has sufficient iron to deal with 50 Hz.

Phil

georgesgiralt wrote:
15 Jan 2020 05:46
" in Chile is 220 volts at 50 Hz
Sorry if I did not comment before but to connect the turntable I have a transformer that converts 220 volt / 100 volt to 50 hz so there is no problem with this."

120 Volts @ 50 Hz may case core saturation with the attendant rise in primary current.

Phil


Hello,
Have you checked this ? Are you sure you are feeding the turntable with 100 V ? Last but not least, is Japan at 50 Hz also or 60 Hz ?
If you fed a transformer devised for 60 Hz with 50 Hz, it will get hot even if the voltage is correct.
You do not give any detail about the step down converter, but those are often 1/2 ratio, so you are feeding 110 V to the turntable.
Buy a cheap multi meter at your nearest DIY store and measure the AC going out of the step down device with and witout load. Look at the turntable identification plate to see if it needs 50 or 60 Hz mains and report back.

P.S. : The original transformer is potted. This is mandatory for getting the security agreement. So it won't be easily reparable, but a transformer maker can make a duplicate suited for your main voltage (and frequency) which will fit in the turntable. You have to show him the old transformer for him to mach the mechanical size/mounting. To find such a guy, ask the people repairing electrical motors (see in the yellow pages).
Just my 2¢
Last edited by Coffee Phil on 15 Jan 2020 07:27, edited 1 time in total.

Coffee Phil
vinyl addict
vinyl addict
United States of America
Posts: 5830
Joined: 20 Sep 2008 08:22
Location: California

Re: power transformer Technics 1600 mk2 at 100 volt

Post by Coffee Phil » 15 Jan 2020 07:27

Hi fitarro,

The fact that the turntable works is good news. If you have a multimeter we can come up with some tests to isolate the issue.

Phil
fitarro wrote:
15 Jan 2020 00:09
Hello again phil
  in Chile is 220 volts at 50 Hz
Sorry if I did not comment before but to connect the turntable I have a transformer that converts 220 volt / 100 volt to 50 hz so there is no problem with this.
As I told you before, my mistake at the beginning was to connect the turntable to the AC outlet of my receivers which delivers 120volt, I think the power trasnformer was damaged there.
the turntable still works perfectly only if the area of the transformer heats up even warms the matt of the plate.
I hope it's just the transformer
I will keep looking for solutions
I really appreciate your help

paddypaws
member
member
England
Posts: 104
Joined: 21 Nov 2018 23:04

Re: power transformer Technics 1600 mk2 at 100 volt

Post by paddypaws » 15 Jan 2020 09:12

Guys you are making this far more complicated than it needs to be. Modern outboard voltage converters often give out square waves so this reconstructed mains and can make power supplies hot.
Just Buy a transformer with a primary that matches your local voltage be it 100, 120, 240 at the correct frequency and an output that matches what I posted at the top of the thread. Replace the transformer in the turntable. Just make sure it’s the biggest one that still fits in the space available it doesn’t need much current. This is the correct easiest and best way to deal with this problem.
paddypaws wrote:
11 Jan 2020 09:27
It’s hard to find the original transformer. You can use any cheap generic -16- 0- +16v transformer. Use +16 and -16 wires for the 32v and 0 + 16v wires for the 23v . You can do this as the 23 v goes straight to a bridge rectifier and 12v regulator on the control board.

fitarro
junior member
junior member
Posts: 10
Joined: 21 Sep 2016 20:29

Re: power transformer Technics 1600 mk2 at 100 volt

Post by fitarro » 15 Jan 2020 18:40

Hi everyone
I tested the transformer and it gave me 105 volt at 50/60 HZ (I sent it to build specifically for the turntable)
Turntable tag says AC 100V 50 or 60HZ 18.5W
this week remove the transformer and I will take it to repair, if it is not possible I will consult to manufacture one (it depends on the value)
If I do not find a solution, I will follow the advice of paddypaws so you will need to guide me to buy the generic transformer you mentioned


The fact that the turntable works is good news. If you have a multimeter we can come up with some tests to isolate the issue.

Phil

Very interesting phil ... the turntable works ok but there is a possibility that this warming is due to failure of another sector of the TT that is not the power transformer? What other tests do you mean?

thank you very much for your help!

Post Reply