Rega Planar 3 - 32 RPM only

snap, crackle and pop
NashAudio
junior member
junior member
Posts: 11
Joined: 31 Jul 2016 02:48

Rega Planar 3 - 32 RPM only

Post by NashAudio » 13 Dec 2019 06:26

Hey guys,

Rega Planar 3, original, with R200 tonearm and glass platter

Problem: I can't seem to get it turning faster than 32 RPM.
  • Cleaned the well;
    Changed the ball bearing;
    Re-oiled;
    Tried 3 different belts (black, red and white);
    Upgraded to TangoSpinenr subplatter.
What gives?

Apologies if this was discussed already. I would appreciate a reference, if it was, but preferably, a step-by-step advice on what I should look at next (and, HOW?).

Many thanks.

Pauw
senior member
senior member
Netherlands
Posts: 658
Joined: 01 Jun 2018 13:09
Location: Spinning round and round somewhere.

Re: Rega Planar 3 - 32 RPM only

Post by Pauw » 13 Dec 2019 09:46

Have a look at this thread..........................viewtopic.php?f=32&t=105369

NashAudio
junior member
junior member
Posts: 11
Joined: 31 Jul 2016 02:48

Re: Rega Planar 3 - 32 RPM only

Post by NashAudio » 13 Dec 2019 18:37

I've read that thread prior to upgrading to TangoSpinner, new ceramic ball and new oil. It's all been purchased and installed. Yet, the platter is turning at 32 RPM instead of 33.33. I am looking for a workable solution to increase the rotation speed.

Pauw
senior member
senior member
Netherlands
Posts: 658
Joined: 01 Jun 2018 13:09
Location: Spinning round and round somewhere.

Re: Rega Planar 3 - 32 RPM only

Post by Pauw » 13 Dec 2019 19:01

I think if you read it carefully and look again you will find your answer .....I did BUT it's up to you !

NashAudio
junior member
junior member
Posts: 11
Joined: 31 Jul 2016 02:48

Re: Rega Planar 3 - 32 RPM only

Post by NashAudio » 13 Dec 2019 20:02

Are you referring to Rega Neo PSU?

Copperhead
long player
long player
Posts: 1933
Joined: 07 Mar 2015 00:47

Re: Rega Planar 3 - 32 RPM only

Post by Copperhead » 13 Dec 2019 20:19

NashAudio wrote:
13 Dec 2019 20:02
Are you referring to Rega Neo PSU?
I couldn't work it out either, bit cryptic.

You shouldn't have to buy a power supply to make the deck play at the right speed, you've already spent enough on upgrades that shouldn't be needed.

Have you measured the pulley and ensured is not slipping on the motor's spindle?

NashAudio
junior member
junior member
Posts: 11
Joined: 31 Jul 2016 02:48

Re: Rega Planar 3 - 32 RPM only

Post by NashAudio » 13 Dec 2019 20:31

Copperhead wrote:
13 Dec 2019 20:19
NashAudio wrote:
13 Dec 2019 20:02
Are you referring to Rega Neo PSU?
I couldn't work it out either, bit cryptic.

You shouldn't have to buy a power supply to make the deck play at the right speed, you've already spent enough on upgrades that shouldn't be needed.

Have you measured the pulley and ensured is not slipping on the motor's spindle?
Thanks for that. I never understand sending someone on a goose-egg hunt instead of just quoting what you mean. Takes the same time or faster and is much more appreciated/helpful.

I agree with you on the PSU. If I must buy a $550 unit as the only mean to increase the speed by 1.3 rpm something is not right in the motor.

How do I ensure that the pulley is not slipping on the spindle? Please be specific; take it easy on the old guy.

Copperhead
long player
long player
Posts: 1933
Joined: 07 Mar 2015 00:47

Re: Rega Planar 3 - 32 RPM only

Post by Copperhead » 13 Dec 2019 21:41

NashAudio wrote:
13 Dec 2019 20:31

How do I ensure that the pulley is not slipping on the spindle? Please be specific; take it easy on the old guy.
A couple of Regas I owned had a loose pulley, these were the standard plastic pulleys. Try gently pulling it off, it should be easy to tell whether it's loose.

If the pulley is tight, and motor properly lubricated, I would be tempted to get a new pulley turned from aluminium. Could the owner have sanded the original pulley a bit? Could be a faulty motor, never have come across one, but I suppose it could be possible.

I have just looked on the auction site, they sell aluminium pulleys there for little money. Might be worth a shot.

NashAudio
junior member
junior member
Posts: 11
Joined: 31 Jul 2016 02:48

Re: Rega Planar 3 - 32 RPM only

Post by NashAudio » 13 Dec 2019 22:12

I have a brand new aluminum pulley that came with the TangoSpinner subplatter upgrade package. I didn't install it yet. I will over the weekend. Maybe this will do the trick.

But to your first point, if the pulley is in fact a bit loose and can be pulled away/move under slight pressure, then simply replacing the pulley would not make it firm/fixed in place, would it? How do I ensure that it stays firm/fixed?

DT999
senior member
senior member
Australia
Posts: 395
Joined: 18 May 2016 11:17

Re: Rega Planar 3 - 32 RPM only

Post by DT999 » 13 Dec 2019 22:54

NashAudio wrote:
13 Dec 2019 22:12
I have a brand new aluminum pulley that came with the TangoSpinner subplatter upgrade package. I didn't install it yet. I will over the weekend. Maybe this will do the trick.

But to your first point, if the pulley is in fact a bit loose and can be pulled away/move under slight pressure, then simply replacing the pulley would not make it firm/fixed in place, would it? How do I ensure that it stays firm/fixed?
The original pulley is glued, the Tangospinner pulley is a tight push fit with rubber grommets that hold firm on the motor spindle.

NashAudio
junior member
junior member
Posts: 11
Joined: 31 Jul 2016 02:48

Re: Rega Planar 3 - 32 RPM only

Post by NashAudio » 13 Dec 2019 23:28

So, when you say the pulley is "loose", you actually mean "up and down" loose on its spindle, or "closer/further" loose from the subplatter?

Copperhead
long player
long player
Posts: 1933
Joined: 07 Mar 2015 00:47

Re: Rega Planar 3 - 32 RPM only

Post by Copperhead » 14 Dec 2019 00:58

NashAudio wrote:
13 Dec 2019 23:28
So, when you say the pulley is "loose", you actually mean "up and down" loose on its spindle, or "closer/further" loose from the subplatter?
"Loose" as in maybe slipping on the motor's spindle rather than be fixed on it properly. I would try the aluminium pulley you have already and check whether that has any effect on the speed. If it's still on exactly 32 rpm, then you will have to continue looking.

GrumpyBob
member
member
Posts: 92
Joined: 06 Oct 2017 08:24

Re: Rega Planar 3 - 32 RPM only

Post by GrumpyBob » 14 Dec 2019 03:59

How is the OP measuring the speed on the Rega? Is it definitely that far off 33.33?

Robert

NashAudio
junior member
junior member
Posts: 11
Joined: 31 Jul 2016 02:48

Re: Rega Planar 3 - 32 RPM only

Post by NashAudio » 15 Dec 2019 00:10

iPhone App and physically counting. 32 RPM.

GrumpyBob
member
member
Posts: 92
Joined: 06 Oct 2017 08:24

Re: Rega Planar 3 - 32 RPM only

Post by GrumpyBob » 15 Dec 2019 04:45

I think the references to the possibility that the pulley is loose are that the motor might be spinning at the right speed, but that if the pulley isn't firmly attached to the spindle, it might be slipping slightly. I suspect if that were the case the speed to would vary quite a lot, or the pulley would just stop turning even though the motor was running.

A few years ago, my Planar 3's pulley started doing this - the platter would stop mid-record, rather than run slow.

Robert

Post Reply