Garrard SL95B, Auto feature no longer works

snap, crackle and pop
CFJP
United States of America

Garrard SL95B, Auto feature no longer works

Post by CFJP » 22 Nov 2019 20:15

Hi all,
This is my first time on your forum and I wish to thank you for offering owner and service manuals for turntables.

I bought this Garrard SL95B in 1971 as a wedding gift to myself along with the first Quadraphonic system on the market, Lafayette, and used it faithfully for many years and it worked flawlessly. I stopped using it about 20 years ago but still stored it in the cabinet. Now my son has an interest in it so I hooked it up to my newer JVC 5.1 receiver and it played well manually right from the start. I will need a new stylist at a minimum but still sounds decent.

However the auto play feature doesn't work and I would like to fix that for him. With the help of the diagram I found on your site I was able to get it to work upside down by trial and error by pushing the "Trip Lever", PN74300. It takes a bit of force to push it and the white plastic "Cam Index Lever" PN 44973 is a bit hard to move even with fresh lubrication. Also the spring, PN44948, is missing and nowhere to be found. the auto feature works properly for all the different record size settings and locates the stylist in the correct location. Also I cannot get the auto stop to work with all my attempts to move levers with the unit upside down, etc. So it appears that 1) getting the correct spring and 2) freeing up the mechanism should get the auto play feature operational.

So I have the following questions:
1. Where can I buy the missing spring. PN 44948? If not available is it possible to provide the specs on the spring, i.e. wire dia, number of coils, overall length, material, and if possible spring rate?
2. How can I free up the mechanism, especially the Cam Index Lever and friction lever?