Ariston RD80

snap, crackle and pop
Post Reply
StuieJW
member
member
Great Britain
Posts: 37
Joined: 21 Jan 2018 20:23
Location: Essex UK

Ariston RD80

Post by StuieJW » 22 Nov 2019 19:59

Hi folks, bit of a weird question but I am just about to acquire a vintage Ariston RD80 turntable (1 careful owner).

The question...
I have the Project speed box DS strobo for my current table. Do you think it would work for this table or in fact any other table apart from a Project one?

EDIT: Both the Project motor and the Ariston motor are AC synchronous.

Many thanks,
Stu

Chiltern
long player
long player
England
Posts: 1142
Joined: 11 Apr 2008 11:12
Location: West Country, England

Re: Ariston RD80

Post by Chiltern » 23 Nov 2019 00:11

The spec for the Project Speedbox gives a max output at 230v of 3w .

What is the power requirement of your RD80.

Alan
Project Speed Box DS.png
(235.38 KiB) Downloaded 27 times

Analogd
member
member
New Zealand
Posts: 33
Joined: 10 Sep 2017 11:26

Re: Ariston RD80

Post by Analogd » 23 Nov 2019 03:11

If your Ariston still has the original synchronous motor then the answer is yes.
The original motor is rated at 115 volts ac but will a resister installed to drop the 230 volts in the UK down to this figure.
The Project Speed Box DS will provide much cleaner 230 v ac at 50hz compared to the mains.

StuieJW
member
member
Great Britain
Posts: 37
Joined: 21 Jan 2018 20:23
Location: Essex UK

Re: Ariston RD80

Post by StuieJW » 23 Nov 2019 08:28

Thanks guys for your responses. I have no idea what watts the Aristion motor requires but it is the original motor so sounds like it might be a winner. Only way to find out is to plug it in I suppose when I get it.

Post Reply