Rega RP8 vs Clearaudio Concept vs Michell Gyro SE

snap, crackle and pop
kapsopod
Greece

Rega RP8 vs Clearaudio Concept vs Michell Gyro SE

Post by kapsopod » 07 Nov 2019 14:59

Hi all,

I am thinking of getting a good turntable. Bear in mind I am still a beginner.

Because of the Rega P8 introduction, the prices on the Rega RP8 (with the Aphetta 2 MC) have come down a lot. So initially I thought this turntable would be a good idea because of its value for money. About £1600 would be the highest I would want to spend, which is what the RP8 costs now.

Then I thought maybe the Clearaudio Concept MM or MC could be a worthy challenger to the RP8. They both have the same price pretty much. The "advantage" of this turntable is that you can find it much cheaper second hand, but almost always without the original cartridge. Also much cheaper to the RP8, the Marantz TT15S1 can be found, which is made by Clearaudio and comes with MM only.

And to top up the confusion I already had between the above models and to go new or second hand, I think the turntable I like the most is the Michell Gyro SE, which I think is a more expensive choice than any of the others, but can be found for 1.2 - 1.5k second hand, with the RB300 tonearm and some MM or MC cartridge. This one I can only get second hand and I am not sure if there are things I need to look for, to avoid getting a problematic one.

Any help on how to approach the above trilemma or experience you might have with any of them would help.

Initially I liked the idea of getting the RP8 because of its MC cartridge, but then I read many good things about both the Clearaudio Concept MM & MC, so I was like "maybe MM is good enough too". And then the Michell Gyro SE, I think I like the most but I depend on whatever I can find second hand. I have not listened any of the 3 turntables :)

billshurv
long player
long player

Re: Rega RP8 vs Clearaudio Concept vs Michell Gyro SE

Post by billshurv » 07 Nov 2019 16:53