B&O TT sound query...

snap, crackle and pop
Beotim
Great Britain

B&O TT sound query...

Post by Beotim » 13 Aug 2019 09:12

So, as I’m new to all of this having mostly streamed music - I have a B&O System, and while I really like it, and have just reformed the speakers, I have a sound issue. On a new record, I can enjoy at low-mid volume music but when I turn the volume up, the sound breaks down, so I have to lift the needle by pressing pause, drop it back down again and we are ok. Any thoughts on the cause / solution.

Pauw
Netherlands

Re: B&O TT sound query...

Post by Pauw » 13 Aug 2019 11:09

It sounds like some sort of resonance problem.....maybe check to see that your speakers are too close to your turntable.....maybe move them a bit further away and see what happens? :D

pivot
long player
long player
United States of America

Post by pivot » 13 Aug 2019 13:36

My first thought is fluff, dust, or fuzz on the stylus. Are the records clean?

Coffee Phil
vinyl addict
vinyl addict
United States of America

Post by Coffee Phil » 13 Aug 2019 17:42

Hi Beotim,

Welcome to the form forum.

Have you checked to see if this issue occurs with other sources? I assume that reformed was a typo and you meant to type re-foam. Check to see if the glue is still intact. If the speakers are OK you may have to trouble shoot the receiver.

Phil

Beotim wrote:
13 Aug 2019 09:12
So, as I’m new to all of this having mostly streamed music - I have a B&O System, and while I really like it, and have just reformed the speakers, I have a sound issue. On a new record, I can enjoy at low-mid volume music but when I turn the volume up, the sound breaks down, so I have to lift the needle by pressing pause, drop it back down again and we are ok. Any thoughts on the cause / solution.

Beotim
Great Britain

Post by Beotim » 14 Aug 2019 11:40

Ok, so....