Technics SL1300 speed

snap, crackle and pop
opus007
member
member
United States of America
Posts: 25
Joined: 15 May 2019 00:35
Location: Lancaster,Ca

Re: Technics SL1300 speed

Post by opus007 » 30 Jul 2019 04:26

Can anyone tell me why this resistor is on the circuit board? All pictures I have looked at online for my circuit board do not have that resistor in place.Wonder if this could be part of my problem .
First two pictures are mine all others are from this site and the web.Thanks .
Attachments
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_9bf.jpg
(287.05 KiB) Downloaded 56 times
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_9ce.jpg
(316.63 KiB) Downloaded 52 times
replacement.jpg
(166.33 KiB) Downloaded 53 times
original.jpg
(158.47 KiB) Downloaded 53 times
1300.jpg
(304.16 KiB) Downloaded 55 times

opus007
member
member
United States of America
Posts: 25
Joined: 15 May 2019 00:35
Location: Lancaster,Ca

Re: Technics SL1300 speed

Post by opus007 » 30 Jul 2019 16:20

Well seems I have found the answer. I bought this turntable a few months ago and so have no history on it. Thought it odd that the rear stickers on the base of the turntable identifying it was missing. It does look to be a sl1300. It appears that the circuit board is from a sl-1500. Here is a link to a sl-1500 circuit board.
/https://www.google.com/search?client=s ... tQtl6QkjM:

opus007
member
member
United States of America
Posts: 25
Joined: 15 May 2019 00:35
Location: Lancaster,Ca

Re: Technics SL1300 speed

Post by opus007 » 30 Jul 2019 16:24


georgesgiralt
senior member
senior member
France
Posts: 298
Joined: 05 Mar 2019 08:44

Re: Technics SL1300 speed

Post by georgesgiralt » 30 Jul 2019 17:27

IMHO, and if I'm not mistaken, the electronics are the same on both turntables. Your "extra" resistor may be from a mod in the circuit at some time.
I've a couple of boards from the same model which are not totally identical.
You worry too much.

opus007
member
member
United States of America
Posts: 25
Joined: 15 May 2019 00:35
Location: Lancaster,Ca

Re: Technics SL1300 speed

Post by opus007 » 30 Jul 2019 20:10

You are probably right. Seems more I do the less things work right. Now the 33 speed is drifting like the 45. If the selector switch doesn’t fix it I will be looking for a repair shop in my area or a different turntable. Thanks.

chiwahua
member
member
Canada
Posts: 56
Joined: 09 Nov 2018 02:52

Re: Technics SL1300 speed

Post by chiwahua » 31 Jul 2019 02:08

Opus007,

It happens that I just bought an SL-1300.

Here is a picture of inside my SL-1300. Maybe the resistance is just at a different location but tapped on same points.
Capture+_2019-07-30-20-54-21.png
(1.49 MiB) Downloaded 38 times
You know, I wondered when you told that you switched wires and the problem switched to 33.. Maybe the wire is the problem and the pots are fine..

But now that you have issues on both 33 and 45 it puzzles me..

KentT
long player
long player
Posts: 4638
Joined: 13 Mar 2008 19:44
Location: Athens, TN

Re: Technics SL1300 speed

Post by KentT » 31 Jul 2019 03:09

When speed or speeds are wonky, and pots and switches clean, make sure the power supply is giving you consistent, clean, correct voltages. If those are not correct, or there's ripple, the servo reference for the direct drive is off. Which throws the speeds off. Check all electrolytic capacitors, on older Technics turntables like yours, wise to replace them. Check all soldering. Check all voltage adjustments.

opus007
member
member
United States of America
Posts: 25
Joined: 15 May 2019 00:35
Location: Lancaster,Ca

Re: Technics SL1300 speed

Post by opus007 » 31 Jul 2019 06:09

Chiwahua, it just seems the more I try to fix this thing the more it goes south. I cleaned the pots again. Got the 33/45 switch apart and gave it a few good shots of deoxit. The strobo on 33s still has a slight drift. When I played a 45 It was a tad better on drifting but still the strobo shows it drifting although I can not tell from listing.

KentT, I do not know how to check the capacitors. I was reading up on checking caps and diodes and resistors but it’s all foreign to me. I look at the schematic and get lost. I may just buy another 1300 and hope it works better and or swap parts. I should of just left well enough alone as before I started messing with this 33s played just fine and pitch did not drift. But I wanted to hear the only 45 lp I have and now I am ready to make it into a flying saucer.

To make it worse all the repair shops around are a joke. They quote more than I paid for it and weeks to fix it. Really like the sound of this turntable so will see if I can fix it but with my skills I may do more harm than good.
Thanks for all the help.

opus007
member
member
United States of America
Posts: 25
Joined: 15 May 2019 00:35
Location: Lancaster,Ca

Re: Technics SL1300 speed

Post by opus007 » 31 Jul 2019 16:08

Will this wire work for retiring the pots and speed switch.

https://www.amazon.com/Stranded-differe ... 220&sr=1-3

Thanks

georgesgiralt
senior member
senior member
France
Posts: 298
Joined: 05 Mar 2019 08:44

Re: Technics SL1300 speed

Post by georgesgiralt » 31 Jul 2019 16:16

IMHO yes, but you'll have enough to set a business repairing Technics turntables ;-)

opus007
member
member
United States of America
Posts: 25
Joined: 15 May 2019 00:35
Location: Lancaster,Ca

Re: Technics SL1300 speed

Post by opus007 » 31 Jul 2019 21:01

Thanks 👍🏻

opus007
member
member
United States of America
Posts: 25
Joined: 15 May 2019 00:35
Location: Lancaster,Ca

Re: Technics SL1300 speed

Post by opus007 » 01 Aug 2019 06:53

Could this be part of my problem. Looks burnt but the things inside the plastic tube look ok. On the underside the solder points look good. Thanks
Attachments
4DC252EF-906A-4AE0-871B-46539650B6CE.jpeg
(263.86 KiB) Downloaded 29 times
A18A5E9E-A43F-44CA-9A02-D88003CAAE27.jpeg
(383.61 KiB) Downloaded 29 times
90B8AAE2-FDFB-4E83-9A01-2283F9B25AAC.jpeg
(297.77 KiB) Downloaded 29 times
224F2DE7-F8D3-40D7-BF40-BA52D2E8DBE1.jpeg
(268.26 KiB) Downloaded 30 times

opus007
member
member
United States of America
Posts: 25
Joined: 15 May 2019 00:35
Location: Lancaster,Ca

Re: Technics SL1300 speed

Post by opus007 » 02 Aug 2019 04:18

Ok I rewired the pots and 33/45 selector switch. The 33 speed is much better and if it drifts it is hardly noticeable and I hear nothing slower or faster when playing records. The 45 is still off and picking up speed. I tried to test voltages and got nowhere. I stopped at the local dj repair shop and they explained how to test things.
I had no success and could not even get voltage at the power supply. Maybe the turntable has to be turned on I just do not know. I had it plugged in but not on.
Anyway way to much time on this. 33/45 switch should be here by Saturday. That is my last hope for fixing the 45 speed.
I also ordered another pcb from Japan as I am done with thinking I can fix something. Thanks for all your guys help and after the main board comes in will let you all know if it was a board problem. And or if the 33/45 switch fixes the problem.

opus007
member
member
United States of America
Posts: 25
Joined: 15 May 2019 00:35
Location: Lancaster,Ca

Re: Technics SL1300 speed

Post by opus007 » 05 Aug 2019 04:38

Problem solved. The 33/45 switch was the problem the whole time or so it looks. Replaced that switch and all is well with 33 and 45. In the future if I have any other problems at least I have extra pots , wire, a new solder iron, a new voltage tester and a extra Sl1300 PCB board.
Thanks for all the suggestions and help.

chiwahua
member
member
Canada
Posts: 56
Joined: 09 Nov 2018 02:52

Re: Technics SL1300 speed

Post by chiwahua » 09 Aug 2019 12:05

Oh so cool! I'm glad that you did not lose hope and that it works fine! Congratulations! Enjoy!