Technics SL1300 speed

snap, crackle and pop
chiwahua
member
member
Canada
Posts: 47
Joined: 09 Nov 2018 02:52

Re: Technics SL1300 speed

Post by chiwahua » 22 Jul 2019 02:26

Hello opus007.

Well, you got your issue cornered, thanks to georgesgiralt's idea of switching wires!

I would believe if you replace the pots with others from any sl-1300 you would be all set! They all seem 600 ohm.. The rest of the markings doesn't matter much I would believe.

I hope you're able to get them at an affordable price!

Let us know.

opus007
member
member
United States of America
Posts: 25
Joined: 15 May 2019 00:35
Location: Lancaster,Ca

Re: Technics SL1300 speed

Post by opus007 » 22 Jul 2019 04:25

I ordered the set of pots with bracket from eBay and after a 5 dollar discount was around 20 dollars for the pair plus bracket. Seller says both tested and working. Seller has 100 positive feedback so hopefully all will be good.
I switched the wires back to their original pots and now problem is back with the 45 pot. And looses and gains speed faster than when on the 33.
So now to wait for the pots which are not due till next week as snail mail.
Thanks for all the help.đź‘Ť

georgesgiralt
member
member
France
Posts: 201
Joined: 05 Mar 2019 08:44

Re: Technics SL1300 speed

Post by georgesgiralt » 22 Jul 2019 08:11

Well, it seems you've found the culprit.
The number under 600 Ohm B is a date code showing when the pot was made. It is irrelevant to your problem.
See Organdonnorparts for parts. They are knowledgeable and fast shipping.
You can also check KAB for parts.
Hope this helps

opus007
member
member
United States of America
Posts: 25
Joined: 15 May 2019 00:35
Location: Lancaster,Ca

Re: Technics SL1300 speed

Post by opus007 » 22 Jul 2019 15:11

Thanks for the info on the parts sites and also for all your help.

georgesgiralt
member
member
France
Posts: 201
Joined: 05 Mar 2019 08:44

Re: Technics SL1300 speed

Post by georgesgiralt » 22 Jul 2019 17:12

You're welcome ;-)
Bear in mind that 600 Ohm is not a standard value. You may find 560 Ohm easiest to find. The difference is not relevant because the pot under the platter can work the difference out.
Of course, keeping this turntable original is part of the fun....

opus007
member
member
United States of America
Posts: 25
Joined: 15 May 2019 00:35
Location: Lancaster,Ca

Re: Technics SL1300 speed

Post by opus007 » 22 Jul 2019 22:26

One of the sites ,organdonnorparts also has a 600 ohm original pot that they say has been tested for a reasonable price. Will see how the two I ordered from eBay works out. Thanks again.
Also as a after thought I am hoping when the pots come in it will be the last time I have to open up the TT. So is there any maintenance I should do when I open it again. I have oiled the spindle/motor with gun oil as that is what a dj turntable repair shop recommended and what they use. Thanks.

opus007
member
member
United States of America
Posts: 25
Joined: 15 May 2019 00:35
Location: Lancaster,Ca

Re: Technics SL1300 speed

Post by opus007 » 27 Jul 2019 02:29

Received the pot from eBay today. Cleaned it with deoxit. Soldered it in place and still I have a speed drift problem with the 45 speed. I am at a loss as when I swapped the two original pots the problem went to the 33 speed. Could the problem be in the 33/45 selector switch ? Am I right that the 33/45 selector switch would of been the only thing really not swapped when I swapped the pots ? Any thoughts or input is appreciated.
Thanks.

opus007
member
member
United States of America
Posts: 25
Joined: 15 May 2019 00:35
Location: Lancaster,Ca

Re: Technics SL1300 speed

Post by opus007 » 27 Jul 2019 22:12

So changing the pots made no difference. So I swapped the two wires again and same result. The problem went to the 33 and the 45 was ok. So I put the wires back the way they are supposed to be. I then swapped the wires from the 33/45 speed selector and now I control the 45 with the 33 speed and vice a versa.
Now the 45 speed using the 33 selector position is almost perfect. There is a very slight pitch loss or gain depending on which way I have the pitch turned. You really have to stare at the strobo for awhile to notice. On the other hand now using the 45 switch position to control the 33 has a mind of its own. It will not stay in any adjustment and once I have it best I can get it it starts drifting slowly and then faster.
So looks like it is the speed selector itself.
Good thing is I have two extra pots now.
Has anyone had the speed selector go bad? Thanks.

eddie edirol
senior member
senior member
United States of America
Posts: 978
Joined: 26 Apr 2011 07:42
Location: New Jersey

Re: Technics SL1300 speed

Post by eddie edirol » 27 Jul 2019 22:58

Before buying a speed switch, check the 45 wire and solders from the speed switch to the board. It could have a cracked solder, maybe the connection on the board itself..

opus007
member
member
United States of America
Posts: 25
Joined: 15 May 2019 00:35
Location: Lancaster,Ca

Re: Technics SL1300 speed

Post by opus007 » 27 Jul 2019 23:59

All solders look ok. I also had rerun the solders when I had it apart and changed the wiring back to its original. All connections look good and I used a magnifying glass to look for cold solders or cracks and find none.

Could not find a 33/45 switch online as of yet. I am hoping that is my problem. Spending way to much time on working on this turntable instead of enjoying it. About ready to sell it and buy new.

Funny thing is I only have one 45LP and mainly listen to 33s. 33s play flawlessly but irritates me that the 45 speed has a problem. Sure would like to listen to the 45 LP.

georgesgiralt
member
member
France
Posts: 201
Joined: 05 Mar 2019 08:44

Re: Technics SL1300 speed

Post by georgesgiralt » 28 Jul 2019 10:28

Hello,
You are lucky because this switch can be disassembled and cleaned. Of course, it is precision job, but can be done.
First you need a new Magic Eraser (ask your cleaner about it) and some deoxit.
Disassemble the switch, apply deoxit on the contact surfaces and "erase" the dirt with the magic eraser. It is sufficiently abrasive to remove the superficial oxidation and make it shine.
Then re-assemble the switch and you should be good.
Carefully solder the wires and you will have a turntable for a very long time !
And play that 45 rpm record of yours !

opus007
member
member
United States of America
Posts: 25
Joined: 15 May 2019 00:35
Location: Lancaster,Ca

Re: Technics SL1300 speed

Post by opus007 » 28 Jul 2019 16:06

Will give it a go. I did find another switch and have ordered it. Won’t try to open up the one inside the TT now until the new one arrives. Thanks for the info and help.

opus007
member
member
United States of America
Posts: 25
Joined: 15 May 2019 00:35
Location: Lancaster,Ca

Re: Technics SL1300 speed

Post by opus007 » 29 Jul 2019 20:47

Also from soldering and such the wires from the pots could use to be replaced. What wire would be a good replacement . Thanks.

georgesgiralt
member
member
France
Posts: 201
Joined: 05 Mar 2019 08:44

Re: Technics SL1300 speed

Post by georgesgiralt » 29 Jul 2019 21:43

Well, I will go to Radio shack and ask them for a couple of wires bobbins. There is no high voltage in them so any wire rated for 60 to 100 V should be fine.
You may want to retain the color for future repair or to keep the turntable original but it is not necessary.
Maybe the original wire has a marking giving the standard it is supposed to adhere to. If there is a marking, show the wire to the clerk at the shop. And only remove one wire when going to shop, and make a sketch and a couple of pictures in order to put the new wire exactly where it should be.
Tell us how it went.

Alexbe
Great Britain
Posts: 4
Joined: 16 Apr 2019 20:35

Re: Technics SL1300 speed

Post by Alexbe » 29 Jul 2019 22:12

This pot. is 600ohms but the B after the value tells you it is a linear taper potentiometer. A logarithmic taper would be marked with an A.

This is important. If you use a log pot then all the adjustment will probably be all at one end and very difficult to adjust

AlexBe