old Sondek vs old Planar 3 vs TD125

snap, crackle and pop
yak66

old Sondek vs old Planar 3 vs TD125

Post by yak66 » 23 May 2019 07:57

I would like to know your impressions on these three belt-driven turntables.
old 1987 LINN SONDEK LP12 Ittok
old 1987 REGA PLANAR 3 RB300
very old THORENS TD125 mkII TP16
Has anyone made a comparison?
Is REGA so faster than SONDEK?
is SONDEK so better than THORENS?
If you own REGA or THORENS or both is an upgrade buy a SONDEK?
Or is SONDEK too valued?

(I refer to an old 1987 Linn Sondek with Valhalla and Ittok)
THANK YOU

Armbored
Great Britain

Re: old Sondek vs old Planar 3 vs TD125

Post by Armbored » 23 May 2019 08:58

Hi there,

I have no experience with the Thorens but some experience with the others. I'm well familiar with the RB300 which is a terrific tonearm, once some modifications are done. If you spend a little money having it rewired and remove the paint from under the headshell, in my opinion this turns it into a giant killer. Even better if you upgrade the bearings. I'm led to believe the RP3 runs a little fast, this makes it sound more lively.

I like the LP12 but it has a very characteristic sound, you could say it's coloured. I had a Basik Plus on mine, noticed a big improvement with the Ittok, much quieter. I also upgraded the power supply from a Valhalla, another obvious improvement. I had an Avondale PS. You can spend a lot of money on upgrades which probably mostly all work, personally I think this is upgrading a design that is basically flawed in engineering terms. It does have a seductive sound though :-)

Mike

yak66

Post by yak66 » 23 May 2019 09:16

Hello and thanks for the quick reply
My old 1987 PLANAR 3 now has new metal subplatter, metal Pulley and white Belt
... with all these new things, maybe it's a little better, but not as I would have thought.
The good reviews of LINN SONDEK owners have never convinced me.