stylus record contact with cue up

snap, crackle and pop
Audionaut
United States of America

stylus record contact with cue up

Post by Audionaut » 21 Feb 2019 18:41

I'm sure this has been covered but I'm new to this, I hope someone can help.

Recently I got a Rega RP3 without a cartridge and installed a Nagaoka MP-110 without a spacer because Google didn't convince me the spacer was pertinent at first and because, frankly, I have no clue what I'm doing, I simply figure it out as I go.

Not on too many, but a decent amount, let's say about 20% of my records, when the cue lever is raised the stylus will make contact with the record in parts as per the wobble of the record, even worse the closer to the center the stylus gets.

Is this typical with a somewhat wobbly record or is this a result of no spacer. Perhaps blaming it on a spacer doesn't even make sense, like I said, I'm not sure what I'm doing half the time. Please help me out.

Alec124c41
vinyl engineer
vinyl engineer
Canada

Re: stylus record contact with cue up

Post by Alec124c41 » 21 Feb 2019 18:48

Put a spacer in.
The lifter should raise the stylus a couple of millimeters above the record surface, with the arm level. The arm comes set for Rega cartridges, which are shorter than many others.
If you have the 3-point arm mount, you can put a couple of washers under each foot. Cheap and easy.

Cheers,
Alec

markcass
long player
long player
Great Britain

Post by markcass » 21 Feb 2019 19:25

The Rega arm's cueing device has an adjustment at the front. You can loosen the small hex screw and carefully lift the crescent-shaped part a millimetre or so, then tighten the screw. This will increase the distance between the raised stylus and the record by a considerable amount - the effect is amplified at the headshell end of the arm.

If the first attempt doesn't increase the distance enough, repeat the process.

HTH

Mark

Audionaut
United States of America

Post by Audionaut » 22 Feb 2019 02:34