Technics SL-D2 speed issues

turning japanese
mjz
United States of America

Technics SL-D2 speed issues

Post by mjz » 19 Jan 2019 16:04

My Technics SL-D2 is having speed issues.

Reading on this forum, I did the switch and pot cleaning and that seemed to work for a day or so.
But now, pitch will be maintained only for the first 15 minutes or so and then will become unstable where the pitch adjust will not stabilize the speed. If I keep the SL-D2 off for a day and come back to it - it will run fine .... for about 15 minutes and then the same thing. Speed is rock solid until that point.

The circuit board looks excellent (no leaking caps that I can see). Perhaps a deeper clean? I did only use CRC contact cleaner not Deoxit. Maybe that's the issue? I'd hate to have to take it all apart again.

Thanks

(I'm new to vinylengine - referred over by the guys at AudioKarma. )

vinyl master
vinyl addict
vinyl addict
United States of America

Re: Technics SL-D2 speed issues

Post by vinyl master » 19 Jan 2019 16:55

Welcome to Vinyl Engine, mjt! =D> You have a great table there...I've bought THREE of these Technics tables in the last couple of years (SL-D202, SL-D2, SL-D3) and love them! You might want to read these for a few more ideas...Lubing the motor and replacing the caps were a couple more things suggested...

https://forums.stevehoffman.tv/threads/ ... ty.721848/
http://audiokarma.org/forums/index.php? ... on.581713/

I say this about EVERY turntable, but patience is key and if you keep at it, sometimes with a little trial-and-error, you can usually get to the root of most problems...Every model will be different and even the same models can act differently...Make sure you download and read this, too, if you haven't...

https://www.vinylengine.com/library/tec ... l-d2.shtml

Here's mine, if you haven't seen it...

mjz
United States of America

Post by mjz » 19 Jan 2019 19:33

Thank you for the info!