advice please!

snap, crackle and pop
Tonybro
long player
long player
Great Britain
Posts: 2114
Joined: 01 May 2014 16:44
Location: Lancashire

Re: advice please!

Post by Tonybro » 02 Jan 2019 07:34

I have both an SL1200 mk2 and an SL1800 mk1. Nothing wrong with an 1800 in good working condition. Main difference is speed lock, mk2 devices tend to be locked via a quartz timing system whereas mk1 devices tend to use a servo system. So long as it holds speed fine, you'll probably not miss anything.

Biggest issue is shipping.

Fozzie
junior member
junior member
Great Britain
Posts: 15
Joined: 28 Dec 2018 00:43

Re: advice please!

Post by Fozzie » 02 Jan 2019 18:18

Decided to take the plunge on the SL-B202, hopefully it plays good! Cheers all for the advices!

ChrisLovesRock
member
member
United States of America
Posts: 66
Joined: 06 Dec 2018 09:25

Re: advice please!

Post by ChrisLovesRock » 03 Jan 2019 03:52

Don't discount the sound quality of Audio-Technica. I have an LP120 and, when properly set up, the sound is far from tinny. In fact, it's nice, rich, and neutral/natural. Plus, it can play 78s if you anticipate doing so.

That being said, a vintage at this price point can be a steal.

Also, RE: speakers, if you end up not being able to afford them, does your desired amp have a headphone jack? Do you have quality headphones? Those would work in the interim.

Fozzie
junior member
junior member
Great Britain
Posts: 15
Joined: 28 Dec 2018 00:43

Re: advice please!

Post by Fozzie » 04 Jan 2019 00:14

Yeah, the one I'm getting is a cambridge audio topaz am10.

http://www.ashforesthifi.com/wp-content ... large_.jpg

The weird thing I don't get...it has a slot called "MP3 in" next to the headphone socket. It looks to me like what used to be called a line-in jack. So, I assume that means I can connect my 160gb ipod Classic (which all my old CDs have been ported across) to the amp.Also, for some peculiar reason this amp's remote doesn't have a power button on it. Or at least I can't see one. Seemed odd to me, tho I guess I can't grumble about that for this price.

My headphones arn't that great (overhead Sony's, they're ok but too much bass)...I can afford the speakers...I budgeted for £600 but my target was £500 or around that for everything. The amp is £180. So, I've got like £200 for a set of speakers. I guess its either Dali Spektor 2's or Q Acoustics 3020i's. They look good value for this money.

Looking forward to this TT arriving anyway, I hope it plays ok :)

image :
https://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/zS4AAOSw ... -l1600.jpg

Tonybro
long player
long player
Great Britain
Posts: 2114
Joined: 01 May 2014 16:44
Location: Lancashire

Re: advice please!

Post by Tonybro » 04 Jan 2019 07:38

Looking good, Fozzie.

The mp3 in is just a 3.5mm to 3.5mm stereo audio cable and you plug it into headphone jack on iPod and away you go! 😀

Fozzie
junior member
junior member
Great Britain
Posts: 15
Joined: 28 Dec 2018 00:43

Re: advice please!

Post by Fozzie » 05 Jan 2019 00:58

Can i ask a dumb question....

where the hell would I put the groundwire on this amp.
https://www.richersounds.com/media/cata ... ht=&width=

The manual says it has a ground terminal, however, i'm not seeing it tho. Unless its not marked.

Wimbo
senior member
senior member
Australia
Posts: 314
Joined: 08 Feb 2017 06:20
Location: Sydney

Re: advice please!

Post by Wimbo » 05 Jan 2019 02:05

Fozzie wrote:
05 Jan 2019 00:58
Can i ask a dumb question....

where the hell would I put the groundwire on this amp.
https://www.richersounds.com/media/cata ... ht=&width=

The manual says it has a ground terminal, however, i'm not seeing it tho. Unless its not marked.
Whats that thing above BD/DVD? Found another photo, thats it.

Fozzie
junior member
junior member
Great Britain
Posts: 15
Joined: 28 Dec 2018 00:43

Re: advice please!

Post by Fozzie » 08 Jan 2019 21:42

Cheers!

So, I bought the Topaz AM10, which was available for £120 and seemed extremely reasonable. Quite pleased about that.

Last thing is the speakers. I am a bit confused here tbh. I can get a pair of Fyne Audio F302 floorstanders for just over £300. However, i'm not sure about couple things. First, this cambridge amp puts out 35 watts per channel. Those Fyne Audio speakers have a total power rating of 60 watts. Am I right in assuming then that the cambridge audio amp I just bought that can handle up to 70 total...should just about be able to cope with them? I could just get bookshelf speakers but in all honesty I think I'd prefer floorstanders. The other ones I'm looking at are Mission LX3's, which are quite a bit cheaper, but probably not in the same league as the Fyne Audio's.

lenjack
long player
long player
Posts: 1891
Joined: 23 Jun 2017 02:11
Location: Liverpool,PA

Re: advice please!

Post by lenjack » 09 Jan 2019 00:55

Amp watts and speaker watt ratings are all over the map, and are not at all critical.

Wimbo
senior member
senior member
Australia
Posts: 314
Joined: 08 Feb 2017 06:20
Location: Sydney

Re: advice please!

Post by Wimbo » 09 Jan 2019 01:39

Yes. More important is the speakers impedance curve and the amp ability to drive it.

Fozzie
junior member
junior member
Great Britain
Posts: 15
Joined: 28 Dec 2018 00:43

Re: advice please!

Post by Fozzie » 12 Jan 2019 17:49

Ok, just need to get everything hooked up now. So, my cambridge audio AM10 amp has a binding post and the speakers have a banana plug socket. So, do I buy one of these....

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Speaker-Termin ... +to+banana

...and then connect both ends with a 16 gauge type cable :

https://www.amazon.co.uk/MutecPower-Spe ... 74QYW0QIQJ

Or.... (no idea on alternative...I have a cold and my head is fuzzy). The guy in the shop said I should get a 14 or 16 gauge cable. I assume 16 is better?

I can't think of another way round it unless I am being completely stupid? (probably!). Shame its 3 metres long....I don't need more than two.

Cheers!

Spinner45
long player
long player
Posts: 2995
Joined: 01 Mar 2017 17:21

Re: advice please!

Post by Spinner45 » 12 Jan 2019 17:59

Fozzie wrote:
12 Jan 2019 17:49
Ok, just need to get everything hooked up now. So, my cambridge audio AM10 amp has a binding post and the speakers have a banana plug socket. So, do I buy one of these....

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Speaker-Termin ... +to+banana

...and then connect both ends with a 16 gauge type cable :

https://www.amazon.co.uk/MutecPower-Spe ... 74QYW0QIQJ

Or.... (no idea on alternative...I have a cold and my head is fuzzy). The guy in the shop said I should get a 14 or 16 gauge cable. I assume 16 is better?

I can't think of another way round it unless I am being completely stupid? (probably!). Shame its 3 metres long....I don't need more than two.

Cheers!
If you look at the amp's binding posts, you'll notice the end is hollow, to accept a banana plug.
They're called "5 way" binding posts.

Fozzie
junior member
junior member
Great Britain
Posts: 15
Joined: 28 Dec 2018 00:43

Re: advice please!

Post by Fozzie » 12 Jan 2019 18:02

So, I can just hook it out of there. Ok I'll have a look, cheers!

Fozzie
junior member
junior member
Great Britain
Posts: 15
Joined: 28 Dec 2018 00:43

Re: advice please!

Post by Fozzie » 12 Jan 2019 18:26

thanks for your help dude, craft knife did the job :)

ChrisLovesRock
member
member
United States of America
Posts: 66
Joined: 06 Dec 2018 09:25

Re: advice please!

Post by ChrisLovesRock » 13 Jan 2019 00:56

Fozzie wrote:
12 Jan 2019 17:49
Or.... (no idea on alternative...I have a cold and my head is fuzzy). The guy in the shop said I should get a 14 or 16 gauge cable. I assume 16 is better?
14 gauge is thicker. Remember, the lower the gauge, the thicker the wire/cable. And the thicker the cable, the stronger the output. 14 and 16 are both perfectly acceptable. It depends on your impedance and how long your wire run is.

Short run = less than 50 feet
Long run = 50 feet +

Hope this helps. P.S. Your Technics is a beaut. If it sounds as good as it looks, you're in for a treat.