Newbie here! Just got some stuff and wanted to share

snap, crackle and pop
jxrojas
Argentina

Newbie here! Just got some stuff and wanted to share

Post by jxrojas » 07 Dec 2018 04:00

Hey guys,

Getting into collecting records and building a beginner rig has been a long wanted dream of mine. Thanks to a juicy performance bonus I found myself with enough coin to get me started.

I just wanted to post here for the first time as the different posts (quite a few I must say, some really interesting discussions going on) I've read over the last week or so have been so helpful! So after considering going new vs used vintage, I decided to move forward with the later.

Doing some digging around I found a fully working, excellent condition Akai ap-206c direct-drive semi-automatic at sale for a good price (~US160). I live in Argentina, so stuff like this usually costs twice as much as in the US or Europe and I thought it was an excellent condition. It came with its original cartridge, an Akai PC-100 equipped with an RS-100 stylus. Doing some research, I read some really good reviews of this cartridge/stylus combo. Nevertheless, I decided to replace it with an Audio-Technica AT95e (good performance, while not breaking the bank as cartridges here in AR go for almost twice as much as in the US). I've kept the original cartridge and I'm thinking I might replace the stylus and get myself another headshell for a quick change should I be in the mood for a different sound.

I also got a custom-made phono preamp from a local sound engineer I was referenced to by a few guys.

Right now the weak link in my setup is my stereo receiver and speakers which I'll surely upgrade when I have enough budget.

I've added a few images for your leisure.

Additionally, I'd like to ask for your advice as to upgrading my stereo + speaker setup. I'll probably set aside a budget of ~US300 for this, but I have little to no knowledge on this area.

Thank you all in advance!
IMG_2471.jpg