RE: unable to get tonearm to float

snap, crackle and pop
Post Reply
kuju2
junior member
junior member
Great Britain
Posts: 7
Joined: 18 Oct 2018 12:54

RE: unable to get tonearm to float

Post by kuju2 » 20 Nov 2018 16:32

Hi everyone,

I have recently purchased a Project Essential 3 SB turntable. No matter what I do, I cannot get the tonearm to float when trying to balance the tonearm with the counterweight. It either dips to the front or flips up. I have it stood on top of my other Hi fi seperates, so it should be level. I pushed the counterweight right to the front as far as it would go and then starting turning it clockwise. No matter what I do it dips to the front and then, even turning very slowly, it will suddenly tip right up.

If I get a stylus tracking force gauge and the tracking force is correct, does it matter that the tonearm is not floating to start with?

Any Help would be much appreciated.

My records seem to be playing ok, but I'm just worried that there is to much tracking force on the stylus.

bernard1
senior member
senior member
France
Posts: 261
Joined: 26 Aug 2016 19:06

Re: RE: unable to get tonearm to float

Post by bernard1 » 20 Nov 2018 16:37

kuju2 wrote:
20 Nov 2018 16:32
If I get a stylus tracking force gauge and the tracking force is correct, does it matter that the tonearm is not floating to start with?
No, your (electronic I presume ?) scale is more accurate than a mark on a couterweight.

kuju2
junior member
junior member
Great Britain
Posts: 7
Joined: 18 Oct 2018 12:54

Re: RE: unable to get tonearm to float

Post by kuju2 » 20 Nov 2018 16:41

I have not purchased one yet, this is the one I am looking to buy:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01 ... U603&psc=1

Any thoughts?

bernard1
senior member
senior member
France
Posts: 261
Joined: 26 Aug 2016 19:06

Re: RE: unable to get tonearm to float

Post by bernard1 » 20 Nov 2018 16:55

It's OK, it's the same one sold under many brands.

Sunwire
long player
long player
United States of America
Posts: 1530
Joined: 07 Oct 2004 21:54
Location: New York

Re: RE: unable to get tonearm to float

Post by Sunwire » 20 Nov 2018 17:28

kuju2 wrote:
20 Nov 2018 16:41
I have not purchased one yet, this is the one I am looking to buy:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01 ... U603&psc=1

Any thoughts?
That's the same, or very similar, as the one I have. It works fine.
You don't need to make the arm float if you can check the tracking force with the scale.
It's pretty strange that it won't float, though.

jdjohn
long player
long player
United States of America
Posts: 2116
Joined: 20 Sep 2015 04:14
Location: Nashville, TN

Re: RE: unable to get tonearm to float

Post by jdjohn » 20 Nov 2018 18:03

What cartridge is installed when you're trying to balance it?

lenjack
senior member
senior member
Posts: 465
Joined: 23 Jun 2017 02:11
Location: Liverpool,PA

Re: RE: unable to get tonearm to float

Post by lenjack » 21 Nov 2018 03:40

Finding the balance point to make it float is very finicky, but as said, if you're using an external scale, you can skip the floating part.

Solist
senior member
senior member
Slovenia
Posts: 297
Joined: 08 May 2017 18:49
Location: Ljubljana

Re: RE: unable to get tonearm to float

Post by Solist » 21 Nov 2018 12:49

Had the same problem a while ago with a ultra light tonearm I bought. It took a while to find the sweet spot to balance it properly (it has a rider weight, so proper balancing is required in this case).

In any case I would try to take the time to balance it. If you skip the balance you might end with too much tracking force when you position the stylus on the digital scale, which might cause damage to the suspension.

Go buy a digital scale (the cheap 10 dollar ones are good enough) and if you cant balance the tonearm set it for the slight counterweight down. This will make sure you dont exceed the maximum tracking force. Then fine tune it until you get the desired vta.

bernard1
senior member
senior member
France
Posts: 261
Joined: 26 Aug 2016 19:06

Re: RE: unable to get tonearm to float

Post by bernard1 » 21 Nov 2018 14:10

Solist wrote:
21 Nov 2018 12:49
If you skip the balance you might end with too much tracking force when you position the stylus on the digital scale, which might cause damage to the suspension.
I think that around the balance point, the vertical track force should be +- 0.1 g, so no risk for the stylus when landing on the scale. But you're right, it's better to balance as much as possible.

Doug G.
long player
long player
United States of America
Posts: 1032
Joined: 02 Dec 2008 02:03
Location: Rochester MN

Re: RE: unable to get tonearm to float

Post by Doug G. » 21 Nov 2018 18:17

The thing is, though, there HAS to be a point where the arm balances. Its simple physics.

Doug

jdjohn
long player
long player
United States of America
Posts: 2116
Joined: 20 Sep 2015 04:14
Location: Nashville, TN

Re: RE: unable to get tonearm to float

Post by jdjohn » 21 Nov 2018 22:17

To the OP, of course you want the cue lift in the down position when trying to balance. If the cue lift is up, it will just sit there on the lift platform until you go too far, at which point it will then rise up.

lenjack
senior member
senior member
Posts: 465
Joined: 23 Jun 2017 02:11
Location: Liverpool,PA

Re: RE: unable to get tonearm to float

Post by lenjack » 22 Nov 2018 00:27

Another thought. Your unit may have excessive friction in the arm pivot bearing(s) at the horizontal balance point. This would make the table unacceptable for critical use. Ask the manufacturer about this.

Post Reply