Used Vintage vs Used Entry-level Audiophile

snap, crackle and pop
junglungs

Used Vintage vs Used Entry-level Audiophile

Post by junglungs » 05 Nov 2018 17:11

Longtime lurker, first time poster here. Thank you in advance to anyone who reads this and can offer advice.

I'm in the market for a turntable and, although I've been a record collector for 20+ years, I have little to no knowledge of hardware, especially audiophile level gear. I'm mainly looking for something reliable, which will go easy on my records, preferably in the $300-400 range. I'm a pretty serious listener, but I'm unsure whether to go the used vintage route or to get something entry-level audiophile. Craigslist is not really a good option for where I live, so it's got to be online, although I'm wary of eBay so I'm mainly looking at online dealers and forums that have established reputations.

These TTs have caught my eye recently:

Used Technics SL-DD22, approx $200, refurbished by an extremely reputable company specializing in Technics. Not so keen on automatic TTs, but I could live with it, and besides it's way below my price range.

or

Used Project Xpression mk lll, approx $350, again a reputable dealer, but a totally different type of TT and sound, I know. I'm mainly just hesitant to buy a new entry-level audiophile TT because of some bad reviews I've read about seemingly low QC for the lower grade Regas, Music Halls, etc.

Can anyone offer some advice/insight on what might be the better move here?

By the way, the rest of my setup is a Marantz SR2000 going through some giant, vintage Kenwoods (which will be replaced later by some newer, more modest bookshelf speakers, most likely). My previous TT was a Technics 1200 with Shure White Label, and I just loved its reliability and flexibility, but I think another 1200 is out of my price range now.

I really, truly appreciate any and all responses.

lbls1

Re: Used Vintage vs Used Entry-level Audiophile

Post by lbls1 » 05 Nov 2018 19:42