SME 3009 Series II Non-Improved Detachable Headshell vs. SME 3009 Series II Improved Fixed Headshell

snap, crackle and pop
VinylMan83
United States of America

SME 3009 Series II Non-Improved Detachable Headshell vs. SME 3009 Series II Improved Fixed Headshell

Post by VinylMan83 » 01 Nov 2018 20:50

Hello everyone,

I hope that everyone is doing well today. I'm brand new to Vinyl Engine (even though I was lurking on this site for sometime now) and I'm really happy to be here in this community. I got into vinyl and turntables back in 2012 and my passion quickly grew. Over the past six years, I have been using a basic/inexpensive rig, but recently, I've decided to finally upgrade. This is where I could you everyone's expert knowledge and guidance :).

I recently purchased a Thorens TD-125 MKII turnbable, without a tonearm and cartridge. After doing my research over the last several months/year, I decided that I would like to try out the famous SME 3009 Series II tonearm. Ive done research on the Series II non-improved vs. improved versions. Overall, I found that the non-improved version is the better of the two, unless I am mistaken? In addition, I also learned that a lot of people prefer the fixed headshell versions over the detachable headshells.

With that being said, I have been searching for a Series II non-imporoved fixed headshell version, but they are tough to come by. However, I was able to find two different auctions on Ebay. One is the Series II Improved Fixed Headshell version vs. the Series II Non-Improved Detachable Headshell version. I'm kind of torn on which one to go with. I tend to overthink all of the details, so I figured I would seek out advice here. Any thoughts or opinions on this choice?

I greatly appreciated everyone's Help. Cheers!

Bufo Bill
Great Britain

Re: SME 3009 Series II Non-Improved Detachable Headshell vs. SME 3009 Series II Improved Fixed Headshell

Post by Bufo Bill » 01 Nov 2018 23:07