turntable ground

snap, crackle and pop
Post Reply
klipper
member
member
Posts: 35
Joined: 18 Apr 2018 19:59

turntable ground

Post by klipper » 18 Sep 2018 19:00

hi all! i have a project turntable and a yamaha s-701 integrated amp. is it necessary to hook up a ground on each piece of equipment(turntable and amp) or is only one needed? if so, which end should i hook up the ground to? thank you, bill

MikeyB456
member
member
Great Britain
Posts: 106
Joined: 24 Jan 2017 20:53

Re: turntable ground

Post by MikeyB456 » 18 Sep 2018 19:43

It's normal to ground the Turntable to the Amp - there's normally a wire to do this, and a screw terminal on the Amp for it to connect to. Some TT's connect their ground to one of the two signal lead earths - Rega's, for example - and that's fine too. Don't know what Project do. And it's normal for the Amp to be grounded via its power chord. If you've done (or got via the signal leads) the TT-Amp ground connection, you shouldn't need to ground the TT to the mains earth as well, as you may end up with an 'earth loop' and get hum problems.
Last edited by MikeyB456 on 18 Sep 2018 19:47, edited 2 times in total.

JoeE SP9
long player
long player
United States of America
Posts: 4639
Joined: 23 Feb 2009 20:20
Location: Phildelphia, Pennsylvania

Re: turntable ground

Post by JoeE SP9 » 18 Sep 2018 19:45

Typically the ground from a TT is the only ground you may need to connect. There is a ground terminal on the back of your amplifier adjacent to the phono input. That's where I'd connect the ground from your TT.

klipper
member
member
Posts: 35
Joined: 18 Apr 2018 19:59

Re: turntable ground

Post by klipper » 18 Sep 2018 19:59

joe, i did connect tt to amp but there is also a ground on the tt. bill

priba
junior member
junior member
Croatia
Posts: 8
Joined: 14 Sep 2018 19:12
Location: Zagreb

Re: turntable ground

Post by priba » 19 Sep 2018 07:46

Klipper, all metal parts of the TT should be connected to a single point and that point should be grounded to the amp. Amp is grounded over power cord.
Thing is to have all those parts at the same voltage (ground) level since we're talking about mV values output and "few" Volts difference of static is what have to be avoided.

MRL_LPLvr
member
member
Posts: 42
Joined: 26 Jun 2010 14:30
Location: STL

Re: turntable ground

Post by MRL_LPLvr » 19 Sep 2018 13:08

You may find you don't need to do this at all. Does it hum... at all? If so it needs to be ground. Some do and some don't. If they do it's generally table ground wire/plug to amp ground plug. Usually found next to the phono input.

Post Reply