the home of the turntable

Rega P2 set-up Help - tonarm skips

snap, crackle and pop

Rega P2 set-up Help - tonarm skips

Postby zinnn » 12 Sep 2018 16:46

Hey
So I'm a beginner when it comes to turntables/vinyl. Bought my Rega P2 last year, and it was great all this time, set it up using Youtube guides and had no problems playing records.

Just moved houses, unboxed my TT just now, but for some reason the tonearm skips and jumps when trying to play something.

I have no clue what to do, any advice would be appreciated. Maybe something got damaged when I moved flats? I tried to be super careful when transporting the tt.

Tonearm is RB220, fyi.

The suggested force for the cartridge is 2 grams, which I nailed (I hope), see:
https://imgur.com/a/o8sdJGQ

But when trying to play something this happens:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KtD6OMbjE1I
zinnn

Re: Rega P2 set-up Help - tonarm skips

Postby laffs4sale » 12 Sep 2018 18:32

I don't know, and I'm far from an expert, but there's a magnet at the back of the tonearm base that sets anti-skate. Check to see if it became dislodged.
laffs4sale

United States of America

Postby markcass » 12 Sep 2018 18:56

Hi

Maybe the counterweight at the back has shifted, so the downforce is much too low and the cartridge can't track a record properly.

Try balancing the arm by winding the counterweight back until it 'floats', and then re-set the tracking force to the correct level. IIRC, one full turn from the balanced state is equivalent to 2 grams.

Ideally, the counterweight should be removed when the turntable is shipped anywhere, to protect the arm bearings (though they are fairly robust on this arm, in my experience).

HTH

Mark
markcass
long player
long player
contributor

United Kingdom

Postby zinnn » 12 Sep 2018 19:20

laffs4sale wrote:I don't know, and I'm far from an expert, but there's a magnet at the back of the tonearm base that sets anti-skate. Check to see if it became dislodged.