the home of the turntable

L/R Channel Imbalance

snap, crackle and pop

L/R Channel Imbalance

Postby okaycpu » 15 Jul 2018 23:39

I have a channel imbalance issue with my turntable. Left channel is slightly louder than the right. My setup is a Rega P7 with a Dynavector 20x2L (retipped by Soundsmith). I initially noticed the imbalance once I bought a headphone amp. I noticed that when I turned the volume down, the right channel would go completely silent at very low volume and the left would still give me some soft sound. I think I have made it better by doing a cartridge realignment. But it’s still bothering me.

As you can see in the pictures, when I test the left channel at -20dbs I get very little noise from the right channel and hit right at the -20dbs on the left like I’m supposed to. Whereas when I test the right channel, I get much louder noise from the left channel (about -10dbs?) and the right channel is like -2 or -3dbs shy of hitting the -20dbs mark.

https://imgur.com/a/tNGX6AP/

Does anybody have any idea what could be causing this? I have realigned my cart with the MINT LP Tractor several times now and when I use the Hi-Fi News year record I’m able to pass up through the 8th band on side 1 for the bias setting and all 3 of the tracking bands on side 2. I just can’t seem to get the channel balance correct.

I know it isn’t the preamp (Jolida JD9 MKII) or the tubes because I’ve tried another input source and swapped tubes. So I’ve narrowed it down to either the cartridge or the turntable’s wiring. The leads going into the back of the cart look very clean but I could be wrong.

Also, I mounted a different cartridge that I had lying around (some cheap groovetracer) and the issue was essentially non existent. It’s a much less accurate cart and seemed to pick up a lot more noise so it was hard to tell. But I wanna say that the problem was still there, albeit very very minuscule.
okaycpu

United States of America

Re: L/R Channel Imbalance