the home of the turntable

Advice on an upgrade path please

snap, crackle and pop

Advice on an upgrade path please

Postby neomagic666 » 11 Jul 2018 17:47

Hi All,

I have recently resurrected my vinyl collection through a deal I did. I managed to get a Marantz PM4200 Amp, Denon SC-M50 speakers and a JVC XL-E45 CD player for some computer memory modules I had (I do IT for a living). All works fine and after a very thorough external and internal cleanup is now being used every day happily and without problem.

I added a cheap 2'nd hand DAB tuner (Acoustic Solutions SP111) for £15 which is great and then I managed to get hold of a JVC QL A51 turntable from a family member for nothing. This cleaned up great and I absolutely love it, all apart from the perspex lid which is probably beyond saving, so will be keeping my eye out for a donor TT.

The TT is fitted with a Nagoaka MP10 cartridge and after following the excellent guides on this forum I have a really nice warm toned, clear and deep sounding record deck. Due to the fact everything in my setup is working fine and it cost me practically nothing I want to invest more into Vinyl than extra bells and whistles.