is it worth upgrading on a old Dual CS 503-1 TT

snap, crackle and pop
MrChriiiz

is it worth upgrading on a old Dual CS 503-1 TT

Post by MrChriiiz » 17 Jun 2018 23:43

Hi there

I'm a bit of a newbie to vinyl and have just recently inherited a very old but barely used Dual CS 503-1 "Audiophile Concept" turntable. As far as i'm aware it has basically sat in my grandad's living room since purchase with very little use but now I have it and i'm really enjoying playing records through it i'm interested to see whether it's worth upgrading in my early pursuits of improving the sound.

Lots of forums online seem to recommend upgrading the cartridge and i've been looking at things like Ortofon 2m red. Although the price is relatively reasonable i'm wondering whether it's even worth putting that kind of money into a table this old? Obviously down the line i'll probably look to invest in something better but for now i'd be interested to know your thoughts on getting the most out of the Dual.

Many thanks in advance

jacrider
Canada

Re: is it worth upgrading on a old Dual CS 503-1 TT

Post by jacrider » 18 Jun 2018 03:14

Not a bad simple table. Look online, there is the ability to adjust the speed. A better cartridge is a good idea. Look at the Nagaoka MP-110. Check the audio cables. Also at the age of the table, look for a new drive belt. Then enjoy.

MrChriiiz

Post by MrChriiiz » 19 Jun 2018 01:04

Thanks for your advice. Looked into the cartridge which looks great and i'm kinda interested to get the headshell with it. Can you even have a straight headshell with a straight arm or would that not be compatible with the required angles?

lini
vinyl addict
vinyl addict
Germany

Post by lini » 19 Jun 2018 15:10