Dual 1019 turntable Help.

snap, crackle and pop
Hockeypuck

Dual 1019 turntable Help.

Post by Hockeypuck » 14 Jun 2018 14:41

Newbie here. First off this site is already been huge for me. Downloaded the manuals already.

So I Finally picked up a record console (free from craiglsit!) that has a Dual 1019. It did not work when I picked it up. Turns out the wires to the RCA input came off and the mute gear was stuck. After some soldering and lubing it all worked somewhat. I was getting bouncy left channel, volume would go in and out. So I rewired the tonearm with some cat 5e cables (probably too thick 28gauge) but I also soldered directly to the cartridge, by passing the old connections that were junk. This is all just temporary and wanted to just make sure I it all worked. Well after the rewire it sounded fantastic. But I have problems.

I'm ordering a new cartridge / stylus / needle any suggestions? (i'm still confused on what is called what)

Some Pictures

My Couple questions:

1. Sometimes to get sound I have to tap the record player (Using a crappy record so dont worry) and then the sound works. Could this be the cartridge being bad?

2. Since the rewire of the tone arm it is way off balance. It swings back towards the stand when trying to go down. I put the back weight on all the way forward but still swung. I put some coins on the head to balance and it worked better. Are my wires maybe binding it up?

3. I replaced the RCA cables because there was a hum. I used some really thick ones I had laying around. If I touch them I get some feedback. I see some RCA have grounds with them or am I just an idiot?

4. While the sound out of the console is good, I get crackling at the needle (not out the speakers)? Is that bad needle, bad cartridge or maybe too much pressure??

Anything you guys can offer would be awesome. Again this was all done as a proof of concept before I pulled the whole thing apart to really make it work correctly.

rewfew
long player
long player