the home of the turntable

Beginner - Help

snap, crackle and pop

Beginner - Help

Postby jmck1 » 17 Apr 2018 09:35

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to all of this but I'm wanting to set up my own system. I've done a bit of research and I've purchased a Dual 505-1 (no dust cover though :/) here:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Dual-505-1-T ... 7675.l2557

I paid £56 for it. Is this an alright deal? I've read that these are decent turntables anyway.

Also, any recommendations for amps/speakers to go with it that won't break the bank?

Thanks everyone :)

Joe.
jmck1

United Kingdom

Re: Beginner - Help

Postby edradour » 17 Apr 2018 10:54

Good deck, good cartridge - good start! As to the rest of it.....most domestic amps are good enough (be sure to get one with an inbuilt phono stage for the nice Ortofon). Squeeze your budget for the best speakers you can get.
edradour

Scotland

Postby jmck1 » 17 Apr 2018 10:57

Thanks Edradour - what do you mean by domestic amps? And what does the inbuilt phono stage mean?

Any recommendations for particular brands of speakers?

Apologies for all the questions and thanks for your Help
jmck1

United Kingdom

Postby edradour » 17 Apr 2018 11:19

Domestic as opposed to 'professional' - ie most hi-fi amps. The Ortofon is a moving magnet cartridge with an output of 5 mV - the phono stage lifts this to line voltage before feeding it into the amp (the output of other sources CDs, tape players etc is already line level). Look for amps with PHONO inputs - that indicates they have inbuilt phono stages. Once upon a time virtually all audio amps had these but since people became besotted with home cinema systems (all line level) some makers have dropped these phono stages.
edradour

Scotland

Postby edradour » 17 Apr 2018 11:22

Speakers are a huge area! Main advice - listen before you buy. Are you looking for big floorstanders or something less obtrusive?
edradour

Scotland

Postby jmck1 » 17 Apr 2018 11:25