Acoustic Feedback Induced Directly Through the Tonearm

snap, crackle and pop
lavallee

Acoustic Feedback Induced Directly Through the Tonearm

Post by lavallee » 16 Apr 2018 16:49

Hi All,

I have some questions about acoustic feedback. I am a newb to restoring turntables and am getting back into vinyl after getting away from it in the early 90s. My current project is restoring a Thorens TD 165; however, my questions are not really specific to that project, or even makes and models of turntables (although they could be, relative to specific design characteristics). Keep in mind, when I say 'directly' or 'direct,' I mean vibrations directly absorbed by the tonearm itself, as opposed to vibrations it might receive indirectly from a chassis, sub-chassis, or arm board. Also, I am familiar with the protection provided by isolating the tonearm (i.e.., the whole assembly, the arm board, etc.) and platter, from the motor and the rest of the turntable.

So, with all that, here goes:
  1. How much acoustic feedback can be induced directly through a tonearm?
  2. Are low mass tonearms more susceptible to a wider band of frequencies than higher mass tonearms, or even just more susceptible in general?
  3. Does a dust cover assist or even completely protect the tonearm from direct vibrations?
  4. If a dust cover doesn't afford the tonearm full protection from direct vibrations, would a raised wall of say, the sides of a plinth, Help any?
  5. Is exposure to direct vibrations even considered much of an issue?
Thanks in advance for any thoughts and knowledge on this subject.

Spinner45
long player
long player
United States of America

Re: Acoustic Feedback Induced Directly Through the Tonearm

Post by Spinner45 » 16 Apr 2018 17:54

in response:

1 - low but related to speaker placement.
You wouldn't put a turntable ON or NEAR a speaker, that's dumb.
2 - all depends on the resonant frequency along with material of the tonearm.