the home of the turntable

anti skate not working?

snap, crackle and pop

anti skate not working?

Postby Sterling1 » 13 Feb 2018 14:25

Recently, I attempted to fine tune my AT-120 turntable's anti skate setting. Using the Shure Test Record I discovered no matter what setting the anti skate was adjusted to there was no effect on the playback, each channel sounded the same. What's up with that? BTW, while on a YouTube channel reviewing this turntable, the author said this turntable's anti skate function was an issue. At any rate, it does appear to not be functional. Any informed opinion here?
Last edited by Sterling1 on 13 Feb 2018 14:52, edited 1 time in total.
Sterling1

United States of America

Re: anti skate not workign?

Postby Ender Wiggin » 13 Feb 2018 14:30

Hi,
I have no direct experience, but from what I read on the AT120, the AS is well known for its inefficency. It is said that the problem lies in the spring, too long. When shortened, the AS starts to be effective, but you need to open the turntable.
I have no more informations, sorry.
Bye

Luca
Ender Wiggin

Italy

Re: anti skate not working?

Postby plyscds » 13 Feb 2018 17:30

Sterling1 wrote:Recently, I attempted to fine tune my AT-120 turntable's anti skate setting. Using the Shure Test Record I discovered no matter what setting the anti skate was adjusted to there was no effect on the playback, each channel sounded the same. What's up with that? BTW, while on a YouTube channel reviewing this turntable, the author said this turntable's anti skate function was an issue. At any rate, it does appear to not be functional. Any informed opinion here?