the home of the turntable

Do I need an amp?

snap, crackle and pop

Do I need an amp?

Postby piddy71 » 05 Dec 2017 23:18

Hi all! I've been saving up for a few years and I'm finally ready to buy my first hifi system. I'm a little confused about and however.

The turntable I'm getting is the Pro-ject essential 2 digital

Speakers:
Q-Acoustics 3020

My question is do I need an amp or will the turntable's one be sufficient. I'm on a relatively tight budget but I'd really appreciate any suggestions as I'm very new to vinyl.

Thanks in Advance
piddy71

United Kingdom

Re: Do I need an amp?

Postby smee4 » 06 Dec 2017 01:50

Yes you need an amplifier of some type. That turntable comes with a built in phono preamp, so you just need a power amp to amplify the sound before it gets to speakers. You could also buy speakers with the amp built in (powered speakers).

You could even just listen to it by connecting via USB to your computer, and use the amplifier built into the computer/speakers.
smee4

Postby Budddhacide » 06 Dec 2017 03:21

Buy used. You'll get a lot more value for your money. Might want to consider an external preamp as well. Have a look at the little bear thread in the preamp forum. That's probably the best budget investment you could make.
Pro-ject 6perspex, 2m black, dynavector 20x2
Little bear t10, bugle 2
Neat Motive SX3, Harbeth SHL5
Rogue Cronus Magnum v1 amp
Klipsch Sub-10
Akai 635 RTR, NAD M51 DAC
Budddhacide

Canada

Postby piddy71 » 07 Dec 2017 00:56

Thanks for the replys, I'll look for a power amplifier.
piddy71

United Kingdom

Postby willwill » 07 Dec 2017 14:56

piddy71 wrote:Thanks for the replys, I'll look for a power amplifier.

What you will need is an integrated amplifier.

This turntable has built in phono pre-amp but it just converts tt:s signal suitable for normal line level input. No volume control.