European TD-160 220v --> US 110v

music box
Post Reply
fishmans
Japan
Posts: 3
Joined: 29 Dec 2019 00:46

European TD-160 220v --> US 110v

Post by fishmans » 29 Dec 2019 01:07

Hi folks,

I bought a TD-160 from Germany. I'm trying to make it work in the US. I've read just about every thread I could find online from people in my situation and have already installed a new 60Hz pulley from audiosilente. Now I'm just trying to convert it from 220v to 110v.

I'm following this schematic:

http://www.theanalogdept.com/images/spp ... 20copy.gif

however my terminal strip is not labelled A-E but instead 1-6. This might seem obvious enough but I just wanted to confirm it's the same order before I change the wiring and plug it in for the first time. Here is mine:

http://tinyimg.io/i/cnWu5Wi.jpg

It reads 1 through 6 left to right from this side, and the AC wires are the light blue leading to 1 and the black leading to 6. Here's the other side:

http://tinyimg.io/i/nGxrdaE.jpg

So am I right to reconnect the light blue over to the next strip (#2)?

Thanks for any help

bernard1
senior member
senior member
France
Posts: 677
Joined: 26 Aug 2016 19:06

Re: European TD-160 220v --> US 110v

Post by bernard1 » 29 Dec 2019 09:56

It is not very clear on your picture but, to connect for 110V, you have to bypass the resistor.

bernard1
senior member
senior member
France
Posts: 677
Joined: 26 Aug 2016 19:06

Re: European TD-160 220v --> US 110v

Post by bernard1 » 29 Dec 2019 17:43

To be more precise, this a view of my grid, without the power cord :
160S.jpg
(101.7 KiB) Downloaded 65 times
Let's consider the plugs #1 to #6 from left to right, for 110V you have to connect the power cord to #3 and #6.

fishmans
Japan
Posts: 3
Joined: 29 Dec 2019 00:46

Re: European TD-160 220v --> US 110v

Post by fishmans » 29 Dec 2019 18:42

Thanks for the reply bernard1, and sorry that my pictures aren't the most clear. So it is the grey 10k resistor I have to bypass? I guess I got confused looking for a 56k one. That means I should take the AC wire connected to the leftmost terminal (#1 on your image, #6 on mine), and move it over two places to the right?

bernard1
senior member
senior member
France
Posts: 677
Joined: 26 Aug 2016 19:06

Re: European TD-160 220v --> US 110v

Post by bernard1 » 29 Dec 2019 21:37

fishmans wrote:
29 Dec 2019 18:42
So it is the grey 10k resistor I have to bypass? I guess I got confused looking for a 56k one.
Yes, the drawing in your first post was correct at a time but my Thorens also has 10K ohms resistor, not 5600 ohms.
That means I should take the AC wire connected to the leftmost terminal (#1 on your image, #6 on mine), and move it over two places to the right?
Yes, that's correct.

fishmans
Japan
Posts: 3
Joined: 29 Dec 2019 00:46

Re: European TD-160 220v --> US 110v

Post by fishmans » 25 Jan 2020 22:28

Thanks for your help bernard1. Reconnected as described and it worked! However once I played a record I quickly realized I only had one channel coming through. Switched the RCA's around and it is definitely not the preamp causing the issue. Additionally, through the channel that is out (the left) I get some crackles when I'm touching the tonearm lever. Any ideas of what the issue could be?

Thanks again for your help.

markcass
long player
long player
Great Britain
Posts: 1337
Joined: 26 Oct 2002 23:16
Location: Surrey

Re: European TD-160 220v --> US 110v

Post by markcass » 25 Jan 2020 22:48

Hi

That narrows it down: the problem is likely to be in the arm wiring - though it would be a good idea to try another cartridge just in case a channel is down on the one fitted.

Usually, problems occur at either end of a tonearm: the headshell contacts or the RCA plugs. I believe the plugs on these decks are known to corrode badly, or they could have been treated roughly, breaking a connection inside.

The cable itself is fine, so you could just solder new plugs to the ends. It might also be a good idea to disconnect the headshell wires and reconnect them. This can help clean the mating surfaces. If any of the headshell leads are damaged or corroded, you should be able to buy a replacement set cheaply.

HTH

Mark

rkay5
senior member
senior member
United States of America
Posts: 826
Joined: 17 Nov 2003 22:05
Location: California,USA

Re: European TD-160 220v --> US 110v

Post by rkay5 » 27 Jan 2020 23:54

I feel for the best sound and better speed control. It's better to a power supply like a Mose/Hercules. As is will change the 60Hz power to 50Hz & 67.5Hz for 45rpm and you can take out the stock resistor and cap.and use the 50Hz pulley and take off the all speed change part if you want to. I did this in my TD160 super that I gone from the UK.

Post Reply