the home of the turntable

Restoring a Thorens TD 165 in rough shape

music box

Restoring a Thorens TD 165 in rough shape

Postby lavallee » 26 Feb 2018 18:52

Hi All,

I am completely new to restoring old turntables and am open to any and all suggestions, especially those who have experience with this model. :)

As mentioned in other threads, I bought a Thorens TD 165 TT off of Ebay that is nearly complete, but in rough shape1 It looks like the plinth is either not original (unless some 165s DID have rear hinges in slots in the plinth) or at least, poorly re-finished where it was aged from being stored in an attic for an undetermined period of time. The seller said he found it in the attic of a foreclosed house he bought and claimed to know nothing about turntables, but that this one DOES turn at both speeds.

The items missing are as follows:
  • Dust cover
  • Second weight for anti skate bias
  • Cap for gimbal
  • Thorens badge on TP-60 headshell
As you can see from the photos (from the Ebay listing) the top plate is badly scratched, and the Thorens sticker was removed from under the platter (at least we think so) and stuck on the back of the rough looking plinth.

First things first: I will need to evaluate its current mechanical state and any info on what I should look for will be very much appreciated.