the home of the turntable

Technics SL-1950 cartridge/stylus recommendation

turning japanese

Technics SL-1950 cartridge/stylus recommendation

Postby jrjones4 » 20 Oct 2017 20:41

Hey everybody,

I'm still relatively new to vinyl but over the past couple of years I've been really trying to boost up my turntable game. I have about 7 or 8 record players which I love dearly but I've only been using 2 of them regularly. One of them is the aforementioned Technics SL-1950, which I've designated solely for the purpose of playing my 45's. I specially ordered the Technics multistack 45 adapter that's compatible with this turntable and I love it! I can stack up to 6 of my 45's on top of one another and for the most part they all sound great. But, since all 45's are usually used or worn, I was wondering if there were any recommendations for what kind of cartridge/stylus to use for the best playback (and not too ridiculously priced)? When I acquired my Technics I had to have it repaired, and the people who repaired it went ahead and ordered a new needle for it: an elliptical Empire stylus with a tracking force of 1.0 to 2.5 grams. And I have no complaints, it does play a lot of my 45's well. But I have also read that a conical/spherical stlyus is better for 45 playback because it reduces the amount of distortion that the needle picks up. And even on top of that, I've read in another forum that this is an old wives tale and that the elliptical stylus is the way to go. I decided to start this new forum because I'd like to hear a wider range of opinions about this matter. I do want to preserve my 45's but I also want to have the ultimate playback, so I was wondering what was a good cartridge with a low tracking weight I could buy? Also, which is better for playing 45's, the conical or the elliptical stylus? And I probably won't have the money to buy one for quite a while but what about this MicroLine stylus - would it still work well on my 45's? On a separate note the cartridge