Technics SL110 Armboard Screw in Bolts ?

turning japanese
Post Reply
goatbreath
long player
long player
Scotland
Posts: 2702
Joined: 17 Mar 2010 16:54
Location: Edinbugger

Technics SL110 Armboard Screw in Bolts ?

Post by goatbreath » 08 Feb 2020 22:40

After removing the 4 screw in bolts at the corners of the armboard panels,the panels not lift off..
I have had a look at the service manual and can't seem to see anything else holding them in place..
Any Experienced SL110 or SL1100 tinkerers here.?

I wanted to change out the rubber grommets and use hard mounting washers on my SME 3009..
I have found this can tighten up the bass..Never done it with a wooden board before though only acrylic...
The Bass is a wee bit soggy and loose sounding,anyway I digress

As some people don't secure the arm lead to the old style 4 pin socket at the bottom of the SME screening can..,I thought I would save myself future trouble if the board actually came off..Both armboard panels don't move when the screw in bolts are removed at all,not a wiggle even.The front board isn't attached to the arm in any way,nothing should be impeding it's movement..

goatbreath
long player
long player
Scotland
Posts: 2702
Joined: 17 Mar 2010 16:54
Location: Edinbugger

Re: Technics SL110 Armboard Screw in Bolts ?

Post by goatbreath » 09 Feb 2020 09:22

I done the operation baseplate screw by baseplate screw,I now have a sore back is the problem,put it out a bit..
I suffer from a bad back..GRRRRR!! Will have to relax and listen to some records now..Not fully dialled in arm height though..

stratokaster83
member
member
Posts: 104
Joined: 03 Jan 2014 00:42

Re: Technics SL110 Armboard Screw in Bolts ?

Post by stratokaster83 » 12 Feb 2020 12:27

The armboard is one piece, you have to remove all 8 screws to lift it.

goatbreath
long player
long player
Scotland
Posts: 2702
Joined: 17 Mar 2010 16:54
Location: Edinbugger

Re: Technics SL110 Armboard Screw in Bolts ?

Post by goatbreath » 12 Feb 2020 16:08

stratokaster83 wrote:
12 Feb 2020 12:27
The armboard is one piece, you have to remove all 8 screws to lift it.
I tried that,it feels like someone may have glued it in place..
At least everything works though.. :)

sylvain999
senior member
senior member
Posts: 375
Joined: 10 Mar 2012 22:51
Location: Blainville Quebec

Re: Technics SL110 Armboard Screw in Bolts ?

Post by sylvain999 » 16 Feb 2020 19:35

Open up the bottom and push the arm board from underneath it should seperate from the top.

Post Reply