Technics 1200 Mk2 Tonearm Replacement

turning japanese
Post Reply
alecm33
member
member
Posts: 42
Joined: 23 May 2014 06:18

Technics 1200 Mk2 Tonearm Replacement

Post by alecm33 » 15 Nov 2019 04:11

Folks-

I received a 1200 mk2 that has a broken tonearm tube. I believe that is the only problem, although I'll need to inspect a little closer. I realize that one option is to purchase a direct replacement. But I'm wondering whether that is a good idea or whether I should change it out to another tonearm? I know that there are many $$ options, but I prefer not to drop a ton of money. I would like to get it back to what it was. Any suggestions?

THANKS!

circularvibes
long player
long player
Posts: 1451
Joined: 24 Sep 2010 02:09
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Re: Technics 1200 Mk2 Tonearm Replacement

Post by circularvibes » 15 Nov 2019 05:00

Two things, where are you and are you sure the rest of the arm is actually okay? I'd replace the whole arm to be safe. They are not cheap but the end result is worth it. As to where you are, we need that to offer you relevant and possibly local options.

alecm33
member
member
Posts: 42
Joined: 23 May 2014 06:18

Re: Technics 1200 Mk2 Tonearm Replacement

Post by alecm33 » 15 Nov 2019 05:39

Thanks for the reply :) Currently, I'm out in California, transplanted from the East.. No, I'm not sure that the entire arm is acceptable. It "might" be, but I haven't fully inspected it yet because I just acquired the table this week. For the price of a replacement Technics arm, I was curious about other options from other manufacturers.

Shadowman82
senior member
senior member
Posts: 845
Joined: 17 Feb 2012 22:47

Re: Technics 1200 Mk2 Tonearm Replacement

Post by Shadowman82 » 18 Nov 2019 22:50

I recall reading on the KAB USA website that it is possible to fit the arms for the new SL-1200s on the old ones . You'd have to ask Kevin at KAB how to do so .

chiz
senior member
senior member
Great Britain
Posts: 920
Joined: 16 Oct 2009 23:05
Location: London

Re: Technics 1200 Mk2 Tonearm Replacement

Post by chiz » 19 Nov 2019 01:46

Shadowman82 wrote:
18 Nov 2019 22:50
I recall reading on the KAB USA website that it is possible to fit the arms for the new SL-1200s on the old ones . You'd have to ask Kevin at KAB how to do so .

sylvain999
senior member
senior member
Posts: 367
Joined: 10 Mar 2012 22:51
Location: Blainville Quebec

Re: Technics 1200 Mk2 Tonearm Replacement

Post by sylvain999 » 19 Nov 2019 20:58

https://www.ebay.com/itm/New-For-Techni ... Sw7cZcRY5a

Up to now i have ordered 4 of these and repaired 2 arms with them. It does the job. They fit,but they might be a few microns smaller in diameter. They have the right weight, but the finish seems to be faux chrome i' m not sure how they do it, it' s really easy to scratch.I would also check if the bearings are poked. There are bits made to fit the locking collar, or you can do one by grinding the center of a straight bit so it clears the pivot screw.

alecm33
member
member
Posts: 42
Joined: 23 May 2014 06:18

Re: Technics 1200 Mk2 Tonearm Replacement

Post by alecm33 » 22 Nov 2019 07:33

Thanks folks for the replies. I'll look at the options you mentioned. Appreciate the help.

Alec M

Post Reply