Technics - How important is the Quartz?

turning japanese
TexMadrone
United States of America

Technics - How important is the Quartz?

Post by TexMadrone » 11 Nov 2019 20:16

I am narrowing down choices for my next turntable. I would like to get a 1300 - 1600 fully automatic model. My question is this, how important is the Quartz lock?

Thanks

lenjack
long player
long player

Re: Technics - How important is the Quartz?

Post by lenjack » 11 Nov 2019 21:00

I would prefer it, all things being equal. It means your unit pretty much cannot run off speed. Some quartz locked units don't even have a speed adjustment. However, it's not a must.

jmcwha

Post by jmcwha » 11 Nov 2019 23:31

I have no direct experience, however I have heard that some of the pre-quartz Mk1 models keep pretty good time anyway. Plus they are probably cheaper\easier to repair.
Having said that the quartz locked Mk2's are a pretty looking deck (IMO) and probably have the edge sound wise.

TexMadrone
United States of America

Post by TexMadrone » 12 Nov 2019 00:19

lenjack wrote:
11 Nov 2019 21:00
I would prefer it, all things being equal. It means your unit pretty much cannot run off speed. Some quartz locked units don't even have a speed adjustment. However, it's not a must.
jmcwha wrote:
11 Nov 2019 23:31
I have no direct experience, however I have heard that some of the pre-quartz Mk1 models keep pretty good time anyway. Plus they are probably cheaper\easier to repair.
Having said that the quartz locked Mk2's are a pretty looking deck (IMO) and probably have the edge sound wise.
Thank you both. I will keep on searching for a nice Mk 2 at the right price.

lenjack
long player
long player

Post by lenjack » 12 Nov 2019 01:37

Agreed that the pre-quartz models are excellent.

georgesgiralt
France

Post by georgesgiralt » 12 Nov 2019 07:27

Hello,
Some mechanical watches are better than some quartz one and sell for much higher price.