technics sl-d2

turning japanese
Post Reply
dirkmyster52
United States of America
Posts: 4
Joined: 04 Oct 2019 20:26

technics sl-d2

Post by dirkmyster52 » 04 Oct 2019 20:51

Not getting much volume every other component works fine help

noisefreq
senior member
senior member
United States of America
Posts: 933
Joined: 20 Feb 2013 20:04
Location: Independence

Re: technics sl-d2

Post by noisefreq » 04 Oct 2019 21:04

Is it plugged into a phono input?

dirkmyster52
United States of America
Posts: 4
Joined: 04 Oct 2019 20:26

Re: technics sl-d2

Post by dirkmyster52 » 04 Oct 2019 22:07

That would make a difference?
the amp has cd dvd aux ipodmp

dirkmyster52
United States of America
Posts: 4
Joined: 04 Oct 2019 20:26

Re: technics sl-d2

Post by dirkmyster52 » 04 Oct 2019 22:18

there is no input for phono

musicmn
long player
long player
United States of America
Posts: 2459
Joined: 02 Jan 2012 22:05
Location: Milwaukee Wisconsin

Re: technics sl-d2

Post by musicmn » 05 Oct 2019 00:34

hi, if you have no phono input then you need to buy and external phono pre amp/phono stage to boost and equalize the signal from the cartridge so you can hear it through the speakers. The turntable is hooked up to the pre amp then the pre amp can be hooked to either cd,dvd, aux which ever line level input is not being used. External phono pre amps start at about $20 but you will want to spend at least $50 from what I have read to get something that has nice sound. If you have deeper pockets you can always spend more. Another way to go is to get hold of and older integrated amp or receiver that has a built in phono pre input and plug the turntable directly into that. In my area I've seen some really nice older receivers for sale on craigslist that are cheaper the phono pre amps. Just thought I would throw that out there. But before you do any of that take a good look at the cartridge currently installed on you turntable for any name or model number and google that info. You will need to know if you have a Moving Magnet (MM) cartridge or a Moving Coil (MC) type cartridge before you get anything. I hope this helps.

dirkmyster52
United States of America
Posts: 4
Joined: 04 Oct 2019 20:26

Re: technics sl-d2

Post by dirkmyster52 » 05 Oct 2019 00:51

thank you!!!!!

lenjack
long player
long player
Posts: 2077
Joined: 23 Jun 2017 02:11
Location: Liverpool,PA

Re: technics sl-d2

Post by lenjack » 05 Oct 2019 01:08

It has nothing to do with your turntable. As mentioned by others, the issue is entirely with your amp.

KentT
long player
long player
Posts: 4494
Joined: 13 Mar 2008 19:44
Location: Athens, TN

Re: technics sl-d2

Post by KentT » 06 Oct 2019 14:32

You need a phono preamp and then use one of your line inputs. Your turntable has a magnetic cartridge which is much lower output than line level and needs RIAA equalization, which the preamp supplies.

Post Reply