Technics SL-5 Inner Groove Distortion Issue

turning japanese
ajames45

Technics SL-5 Inner Groove Distortion Issue

Post by ajames45 » 14 Mar 2019 21:02

Hi all. I replaced the cartridge on my SL-5 and ever since then, it plays with really bad distortion when it gets close to the label. The replacement cartridge is an AT85EP. I've tried swapping that stylus and playing it on the old cartridge and it still plays with distortion. I've tried putting the tracking force higher and still no improvement. I put back the old cartridge and stylus back on and it now plays the same too. I don't know what I did for it to all of the sudden to sound like that but I hope I didn't break something while replacing the cartridge. I'm still a bit new to doing this type of stuff and didn't realize all I really needed to do was to replace the stylus. Any help would be appreciated!

paulrenea

Re: Technics SL-5 Inner Groove Distortion Issue

Post by paulrenea » 15 Mar 2019 00:36

I also have this SL-5. Are there any cartridge adjustment options to consider? The one I have may be in need of cleaning the rail and re-oiling it. I have to go out, maybe we can chat later-on.

ajames45

Post by ajames45 » 16 Mar 2019 03:56

There doesn't seem to be any cartridge adjustment options as far as I know

ajames45

Post by ajames45 » 26 Mar 2019 02:37

Is there anyone else who can help me with this?? I've tried different cartridges and needles and yet I still get that awful distorted sound

fscl
vinyl addict
vinyl addict
United States of America

Post by fscl » 27 Mar 2019 16:37

Have you tried verifying the tracking force ? Could it be previously ruined inner grooves on the LPs you're playing ?

Fred

Gravitar8
Canada

Post by Gravitar8 » 27 Mar 2019 17:39

Apologies if this is TOO obvious but it does get missed.. have you checked and verified the table is sitting level? I know the SL-15 (though it can be hung and plays quite well vertically too) really needs a rock solid leveling to track properly.