Tone arm moves inward too quickly

turning japanese
btfloyd
United States of America

Tone arm moves inward too quickly

Post by btfloyd » 01 Jan 2019 18:01

Bought my first real turntable. Technics SL-QD2. In the process of testing it out at the house, I noticed that the stylus seemed to “jump grooves” every rotation or two. It minimized as the tonearm neared the label. My first thought was that the record was warped (and it is to some degree); however, the cheap-o TT I’ve been using doesn’t do this. What am I missing/what should I do? Is the weighting wrong on the tonearm? Set to 1.25 g. Stanton cart/stylus (looks like L720 or U720). Do I need a label weight? Could use some serious Help getting this lined out. Thanks in advance. I’m very new to having a decent TT, and know very little about troubleshooting.

vanakaru

Re: Tone arm moves inward too quickly

Post by vanakaru » 01 Jan 2019 18:10

Try to change Anti-Scating first. However there may be something physical like tonearm wires, bearing etc preventing free movement. Try to run tonearm bearing test(look at youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lq2Rk7_i6hQ).

Alec124c41
vinyl engineer
vinyl engineer
Canada

Post by Alec124c41 » 01 Jan 2019 21:24

This is a P-mount turntable. No adjustments to set - almost.
First, examine the stylus. If it is dirty, it won't track well, or sound well.
Same applies if the diamond tip is missing, but sounds worse.
Most of these turntables were set to track at 1.25 grams, but had provision for setting plus or minus 0.25 grams, usually under the arm.
If your stylus is clean and pointed, you could try to add that quarter gram.
Your turntable manual is here: https://www.vinylengine.com/library/tec ... -qd2.shtml

Cheers,
Alec

btfloyd
United States of America

Post by btfloyd » 02 Jan 2019 03:25