SL1200Mk5 Speeds Up After Warming Up

turning japanese
d2b
United States of America

SL1200Mk5 Speeds Up After Warming Up

Post by d2b » 20 Oct 2018 22:46

When cold (i.e. been sitting around for a while), my SL1200Mk5 runs fine at correct speed and brakes properly. After being powered up for a while, say 20 minutes perhaps, the platter begins to spin very fast and when powered down, takes a minute or two to slow to a near-stop.

What is the most likely problem—the motor drive IC or something else?

After turning it off for a while, it returns temporarily to apparently normal operation.

Dennis, aka "d2b"

chiz
Great Britain

Re: SL1200Mk5 Speeds Up After Warming Up

Post by chiz » 21 Oct 2018 15:09

I'm no expert but others have suggested that AN6675 is the most likely culprit.

d2b
United States of America

Post by d2b » 21 Oct 2018 18:41

is the AN6680 a suitable replacement for the AN6675? It looks like the AN6675 may be hard to obtain.

chiz
Great Britain

Post by chiz » 21 Oct 2018 21:53

No, these two ICs are not interchangeable.
technics_board.jpg
(117.83 KiB) Downloaded 110 times
Hopefully someone will have some advice for you on how to troubleshoot this.
Like I said, I'm no expert on this issue - just reporting what I have read elsewhere.

d2b
United States of America

Post by d2b » 21 Oct 2018 22:13

Thanks. I guess I could have looked on the schematic rather than ask the question. I'm not home at the moment, though. When I started looking online for the AN6675, several vendors listed the other part instead.

If I can find the part, I'll replace it. In the meantime, I'll check all of the capacitors around it to make sure one of them hasn't gone bad on me.

Dennis, aka "d2b"

chiz
Great Britain

Post by chiz » 22 Oct 2018 10:59

Good luck.
This might Help?
troubleshooting.JPG
(33.78 KiB) Downloaded 98 times
Service manuals available here:
https://www.vinylengine.com/library/tec ... 1200.shtml
https://www.vinylengine.com/library/tec ... 1210.shtml