Audio Technica AT-LP3 cartridge upgrade

always listening
br0nski

Audio Technica AT-LP3 cartridge upgrade

Post by br0nski » 04 May 2018 23:09

Hi,

I am a complete novice and just recently purchased an Audio Technica AT-LP3 and very pleased with it even though it’s an entry level TT. I understand upgrading the cartridge is recommended, could someone please help me with picking one?

Thanks

Jdog1958
United States of America

Re: Audio Technica AT-LP3 cartridge upgrade

Post by Jdog1958 » 05 May 2018 08:43

If you are looking at a budget, I think a good place to start would be an Audio Technica AT95E. It's what I chose after I dusted off the old turntable, and I am very happy with it so far. $50 or less. If you are looking for something better, others may have their recommendations.

br0nski

Post by br0nski » 05 May 2018 08:52

Thanks Jdog, I’ve done a bit of research today and toying with the ortofon 2m red cartridge, it seems to be well regarded.

rich12

Post by rich12 » 05 May 2018 15:05

br0nski wrote:Thanks Jdog, I’ve done a bit of research today and toying with the ortofon 2m red cartridge, it seems to be well regarded.
Be careful. Some people can't stand the 2M Red.

br0nski

Post by br0nski » 05 May 2018 17:57

What’s bad / wrong with it?

Ghaasl
United States of America

Post by Ghaasl » 05 May 2018 22:53

br0nski wrote:What’s bad / wrong with it?