Anyone having problems with VLC?

compact disc, dacs, mp3 players and streaming audio
VinyldechezPierre
France

Anyone having problems with VLC?

Post by VinyldechezPierre » 21 Nov 2019 10:37

I've been using VLC for a few years now but starting a couple months ago it sees files as not readable...

My files are either downloads gotten along with a vinyl or rips from my own CDs which are not even compressed in anyway; straight files copied to my hard drive. Also, 99% of the time, closing VLC and restarting it takes care of the problem. But it's still annoying and I'd like to fix the problem before going further towards my goal of boxing up my CDs.

By the way, it is a recent version of the software on a recent OS.

I've downloaded JRiver Media Center which hasn't acted weird so far but I find it less than intuitive. :(

Any ideas?

Thanks.

JoeE SP9
vinyl addict
vinyl addict
United States of America

Re: Anyone having problems with VLC?

Post by JoeE SP9 » 22 Nov 2019 02:23

I've tried VLC and JRiver. VLC has IMO a truly agricultural interface for music playback. It's much better suited for video playback. The way JRiver handles compilations has always bothered me. You might want to give Music Bee (my choice), Media Monkey or Foobar an audition. They're all free.

VinyldechezPierre
France

Post by VinyldechezPierre » 22 Nov 2019 06:31

I'll take a look. Thanks.

VinyldechezPierre
France

Post by VinyldechezPierre » 23 Nov 2019 13:01

JoeE SP9 wrote:
22 Nov 2019 02:23
You might want to give Music Bee...
Ok, a bit more time for a longer answer.

Whatever you mean by an agricultural interface, VLC's works mine for me. Except for the recent problem of course. I just drop a folder (one album) into the window and it starts. I'm not into making playlists or groups or whatever.