the home of the turntable

Photos of ES1 or Legend circuit board

american simplicity

Photos of ES1 or Legend circuit board

Postby valvesonly » 11 Jul 2006 03:25

Trying to redo an The AR Turntable from 220 tp 115V. Has any body got a photo of the actual electronics so I can compare and work out the difference. Motors are the same so resistors must be different.

Is there a post on this already.
valvesonly
junior member
junior member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 12 Mar 2006 00:55
Location: GTA

Canada

Postby ddarch » 11 Jul 2006 11:28

I can get that for you in a day or two.

I have never done that changeover...it would be great if you would take digital photos along the way, and then I can put it up on the site.

Dave
David Archambault, Exeter, NH
www.vintagethorens.com
www.vinylnirvana.com
User avatar
ddarch
moderator
 
Posts: 852
Images: 6
Joined: 17 Dec 2002 02:57
Location: Seacoast, NH

ref. the 220 to 110 issue...I know I gave you this already

Postby Ernie L » 11 Jul 2006 19:01

but i thought someone else might find it useful
Image
Image
Ernie L
 

Postby Tubedude » 12 Jul 2006 16:06

Thanks, Ernie. Good pic. - but I have a bonehead question. Didn't you also have to relocate one of the power input wires (either the black or the red)? It will be important for folks doing the 120 to 220 conversion who will be referencing your diagram/pic.
Tubedude
member
member
 
Posts: 89
Images: 1
Joined: 22 Sep 2005 22:50
Location: Concord, CA (SF Bay Area)

tubedude

Postby Ernie L » 12 Jul 2006 16:13

I'm afraid I can't answer that as the conversion was done before I owned the table. I found that diagram in the box.

If more pictures would be of help just let me know.
Ernie
Ernie L
 

AR PCB Board

Postby valvesonly » 16 Jul 2006 21:18

Hi all

My Camera is on holiday in Quebec so I cant post pictures or start therefore at this stage.


It seems apart from removing resistors they moved a wire (this is correct) but the capacitors seem to have different values from the sketch. Possibility exists this is a different board as well.

Could you confirm that the capicitors are .022uf and .25MFD as per sketch, I cannot see values on the photograph. I seem to be .01 uF and .82MFD & will test values under power as well. A photo of the underside of the board will help me confirm if the boards are the same. Holes seem slightly different in space but that might just be a version not a circuit difference.
valvesonly
junior member
junior member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 12 Mar 2006 00:55
Location: GTA

Canada

pics

Postby Ernie L » 17 Jul 2006 01:25

Yes the values are.022 /600vdc for the yellow and .25/400 vdc for the black
Image

and the other side of the board
Image
Ernie L
 

Postby gleichnerr » 28 Jul 2006 18:30

Wouldn't it be easier to get a 220-volt version of the motor (and perhaps a more simple/elegant/more accurate solution)? :roll:
gleichnerr
member
member
 
Posts: 208
Joined: 05 Sep 2005 18:08
Location: Wauwatosa (Milwaukee Area) WI

United States of America

Re:

Postby moshpit » 09 Mar 2013 17:59

gleichnerr wrote:Wouldn't it be easier to get a 220-volt version of the motor (and perhaps a more simple/elegant/more accurate solution)? :roll:


Having moved from Canada to England, I need to switch mine from 115v/60hz to 220v/50hz - Is this correct that all I have to do is switch out the motor to a 220v version? I understood there might also be issues with the pulley?
moshpit
junior member
junior member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 09 Mar 2013 11:43

Great Britain

Re: Photos of ES1 or Legend circuit board

Postby abril » 09 Mar 2013 22:42

I understood there might also be issues with the pulley?


There will be issues with the pulley,because of the different mains frequency and the motor being locked to it you will need a larger pulley for 50Hz mains than you need for 60Hz.
User avatar
abril
long player
long player
contributor
 
Posts: 1763
Images: 157
Joined: 13 Oct 2002 20:48
Location: Cornwall

Re: Photos of ES1 or Legend circuit board

Postby moshpit » 12 Mar 2013 19:28

abril wrote:
I understood there might also be issues with the pulley?


There will be issues with the pulley,because of the different mains frequency and the motor being locked to it you will need a larger pulley for 50Hz mains than you need for 60Hz.


Thanks for confirming that Abril. Been looking for ages, and it would be much easier to be in North America and looking for a 60. I've pretty much decided the Origin Live DC motor upgrade is the path of least resistance. Pricey, but it gets rid of a major headache and should be a decent upgrade.
moshpit
junior member
junior member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 09 Mar 2013 11:43

Great Britain

Return to Acoustic Research Forum


Design and Content © Vinyl Engine 2002-2014

faq | site policy | advertising