the home of the turntable

Cartridge for Dual 1209

twice the fun

Cartridge for Dual 1209

Postby Sheilajeanne » 17 Oct 2011 05:30

I picked up a 1209 turntable at the estate sale of a friend. I got the turntable, a 2-tape tape deck with AM/FM radio, and a 5 disc CD player and 2 speakers for $30. Not too shabby a deal. I've been told by the sellers that they checked everything out before the sale, and it all works. Unfortunately, someone got there before me, and the [censored!] ripped off the cartridge of the turntable! :-x

I am a total noob when it comes to cartridges and needles, and haven't a clue what to buy! I have downloaded the owner's manual from this site, but though it tells you how to replace the cartridge, it doesn't give any hints as to what type of needle the turntable originally had, though it does say it takes a 1/2" cartridge.

I know there's a range of quality and prices when it comes to needles, and being somewhat strapped for money right now, I can't afford to go too high-end.

Any advice/suggestions would be welcome!
Sheilajeanne

Canada

Re: Cartridge for Dual 1209

Postby Alec124c41 » 17 Oct 2011 05:41

This would be a start:
http://www.edsaunders.com/reded.htm

Cheers,
Alec
Keep them spinning.
Alec124c41
vinyl addict
vinyl addict

Canada

Postby muradeli » 17 Oct 2011 13:39

Sheilajeanne wrote:Unfortunately, someone got there before me, and the [censored!] ripped off the cartridge of the turntable! :-x

Probably someone ripped off the cartridge along with a cartridge holder. If so, you will need both. Often they are sold on ebay together. Cartridges like Shure M91E or Audio Technica AT110E would be fine I think.
muradeli

Postby Sheilajeanne » 17 Oct 2011 14:07

muradeli wrote:Probably someone ripped off the cartridge along with a cartridge holder. If so, you will need both. Often they are sold on ebay together. Cartridges like Shure M91E or Audio Technica AT110E would be fine I think.