the home of the turntable

Help With Connecting Turntable To Receiver

snap, crackle and pop

Help With Connecting Turntable To Receiver

Postby ender1208 » 17 Jun 2011 19:22

i bought a sony lx3000usb turntable to listen to some old vinyls i have. i have a pioneer elite vsx23thx receiver. i bought a cheap preamp and hooked it up but got a real bad sound coming out of my speakers. I bought a new pre amp NAD PP-2 to hope for better sound. when i connect everything i am getting no sound out of my speakers. my turntable is set to line instead of phono and i have the turntable output to the input of the preamp and i have the output of the preamp going to the cd input of my receiver. is there something i a doing wrong because when i turn everything on i get no sound from my speakers. ive tried switching the rca cables around and still no sound. does anyone know whats going on? thanks
ender1208
junior member
junior member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 17 Jun 2011 19:10
Location: new jersey

Postby KevAmiga » 17 Jun 2011 19:26

Does it sound distorted?

Sounds to me like this TT possibly has a phono stage built in, so you have no need for yours.

Try connecting the TT to the amp directly to the CD socket and set it to Line. If you want to use the phono stage, set the TT to Phono.

As always, start with the volume set very low to avoid damaging speakers, incase you have it set up wrong :)

Hope this helps!

Kev
User avatar
KevAmiga
senior member
senior member
 
Posts: 305
Images: 1
Joined: 18 Apr 2011 15:40
Location: Swansea, South Wales, UK

Postby KevAmiga » 17 Jun 2011 19:27

Ok, just checked the spec on your TT

Technical Details
USB audio output
Transfer your vinyl albums to digital format
Fully automatic operation
Built-in phone preamp
Static balance tonearm

Built in preamp... there's ya problem :)
User avatar
KevAmiga
senior member
senior member
 
Posts: 305
Images: 1
Joined: 18 Apr 2011 15:40
Location: Swansea, South Wales, UK

Postby ender1208 » 17 Jun 2011 19:31

so what should i do to get it to work..there is no sound connecting the turntable directly to the receiver.
ender1208
junior member
junior member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 17 Jun 2011 19:10
Location: new jersey

Postby KevAmiga » 17 Jun 2011 19:37

Ok... back to basics.

So. Disconnect the pre-amp completly.

Red and White RCA plugs on the Turntable? Connect those to the CD input, AUX input, even TUNER input on your amp - doesnt matter which for now. Select "Line" on the TT. That should be it, to at least get some sound out of it.

Any good?

Oh... and if its an AV reciever like mine chuck it into STEREO mode, not ProLogic II or anything like that.
User avatar
KevAmiga
senior member
senior member
 
Posts: 305
Images: 1
Joined: 18 Apr 2011 15:40
Location: Swansea, South Wales, UK

Postby ender1208 » 17 Jun 2011 19:52

no good. the rca cables i connect to the cd input on my receiver and i get no sound at all, not even scrathes or distortion. seperately..i thought it was weird that very low music from the record plays out of the tuntable like there are speakers built into them but i never thought turntable can produce sound. just wondering..this cant be the problem right?
ender1208
junior member
junior member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 17 Jun 2011 19:10
Location: new jersey

Postby KevAmiga » 17 Jun 2011 19:56

Nope, your hearing the stylus vibrating on the TT, thats exactly how it's meant to be. Welcome to the world of Analogue audio :)

Ok.. so switch the TT over to PHONO, leave it connected straight into the CD port of the amp. Can you now hear sound, albeit quiet and very treble-orientated ? Remember to turn the volume up.... :p
User avatar
KevAmiga
senior member
senior member
 
Posts: 305
Images: 1
Joined: 18 Apr 2011 15:40
Location: Swansea, South Wales, UK

Postby ender1208 » 17 Jun 2011 20:01

just want to say thanks for helpin me with this. i should have said this in the last post haha sorry but i switched it to phono and played it but still no sound and i turned my receiver to max. im wondering why i got scratchy sound and music with the cheap preamp.
ender1208
junior member
junior member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 17 Jun 2011 19:10
Location: new jersey

Postby KevAmiga » 17 Jun 2011 20:04

Hey, no worries about the help :)

Ok.

So, your Amp. Do you have another device, say a CD player you can connect to those CD sockets? If so, make sure its working TURN the VOL down first though!
User avatar
KevAmiga
senior member
senior member
 
Posts: 305
Images: 1
Joined: 18 Apr 2011 15:40
Location: Swansea, South Wales, UK

Postby ender1208 » 17 Jun 2011 20:12

i plugged in a cd walkman that i have and i got no sound from the speakers..so could it be the cd input on the receiver isnt working cause that would suck.
ender1208
junior member
junior member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 17 Jun 2011 19:10
Location: new jersey

Postby KevAmiga » 17 Jun 2011 20:14

Yep... sounds like. Or, there's a setting wrong somewhere.

Any other inputs on that amp?

Oh, and the volume was up on the CD walkman yeah?
User avatar
KevAmiga
senior member
senior member
 
Posts: 305
Images: 1
Joined: 18 Apr 2011 15:40
Location: Swansea, South Wales, UK

Postby ender1208 » 17 Jun 2011 20:16

there are cd-r/tape inputs and outputs, but ive tried the inputs to them and it still has no sound. if you look up my receiver youll see the back of it..pioneer vsx-23thx
ender1208
junior member
junior member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 17 Jun 2011 19:10
Location: new jersey

Postby KevAmiga » 17 Jun 2011 20:18

So, CDR-TAPE in is giving nothing either, no?

What does it say on the display on the front of the amp?

What mode is it in, etc.

Take a photo if you want :D :D
User avatar
KevAmiga
senior member
senior member
 
Posts: 305
Images: 1
Joined: 18 Apr 2011 15:40
Location: Swansea, South Wales, UK

Postby ender1208 » 17 Jun 2011 20:26

hey i finally got it to work. it was a setting i had to change in my receiver basically to say that there was something connected to the cd input. i hate when i find out its something so simple like that but hey i can return the preamp now. Thanks for your help with this, after you said it could be a setting it got me thinking. awesome, glad its working!
ender1208
junior member
junior member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 17 Jun 2011 19:10
Location: new jersey

Postby KevAmiga » 17 Jun 2011 20:27

Bingo!

Ok.. so.. lets not stop there!

Up to you, but i would try connecting the pre-amp, but switching the TT to Phono mode. See if you prefer the sound, some built in phono stages are a little naff to say the least :roll:
User avatar
KevAmiga
senior member
senior member
 
Posts: 305
Images: 1
Joined: 18 Apr 2011 15:40
Location: Swansea, South Wales, UK

Return to Turntables and Tonearms

cron