the home of the turntable

Garrard 4hf

the jewel in the crown

Garrard 4hf

Postby cloisters » 20 Apr 2011 20:17

Hello all

I'm completely new to this so please bear with me - I picked up a Garrard 4HF at a boot sale the other day 'because it looked nice' (mistake number one) - it was only four quid though - and not in awful nick, considering. I put a new plug on and it fires up ok, but being used to your standard belt driven decks, the operation looks a unfamiliar. There are two faults that seem obvious...

1) despite the silver mechanism (left middle) spinning fine, I'm not sure how this works in tandem with the idler wheel...do they connect somehow? am I missing a part? When the platter is replaced it stays stationery.

2) the speed changer is stuck at 33rpm and seems pretty resolved in staying there! is there a way of freeing this up?

The complete beast! As you see it's certainly battered and probably needs a thorough clean, but still in considerable condition. Is there anything obvious I'm missing here that I need to sell my soul on eBay to obtain?

Again, these questions may seem obvious but I'm totally new to this game. Any advice on getting her back up and running gratefully received. Thanks!
cloisters

Postby LPfan » 21 Apr 2011 03:55

Hallo,

You are very lucky. It is very rare to find a 4HF at that price, and almost impossible to find one with that white enamal base.

The "silver mechanism" is known as the motor pulley around these parts. When you lift the tonearm from the rest and push it to the right, away from the platter, the black idler wheel shall engage between the inner rim and the motor pulley.

There is no alternative to elbow grease to free up the jammed speed change. My 4HF also arrived with the same issue, caused by a special Garrard grease fondly named gorilla snot by members here.