the home of the turntable

Turntable diagnosis needed...

snap, crackle and pop

Turntable diagnosis needed...

Postby sblarkin82 » 03 Feb 2011 11:32

Hi,

This is my first post so apologies if it is in the wrong forum and if I sound a little clueless, I’m new to the world of record players.

I was recently given a Sherwood PM-8550 turntable which appears to be in great nick. I have hooked it up to my amp, phono sockets in place and ground wire to the GND screw. The turntable seems to be working fine and when I play a record I can hear the track very faintly from the stylus but nothing through my speakers. I have downloaded a copy of the manual for the turntable and have set everything up (what looks to be) correctly. Is this likely to be a problem with the connecting wires or the turntable itself? Any help is greatly appreciated.

Cheers, Sean.
sblarkin82

Postby kelvinMunson » 03 Feb 2011 11:54

Hi,

What cartridge do you have fitted and does yor amplifier have an Phono input with suitable gain and RIAA equalisation ?

If it's a modern amplifier it may only have line level inputs (Aux, CD, Tuner etc) and my not have the required sensitivity for a phono cartridge; in which case you will need a suitable pre-amplifier.

Alternatively it could be that you don't have the wires on your cartridge connected in the correct sequence; have you changed them since it was last used and working ?

kelvin
kelvinMunson
long player
long player

Great Britain

Postby bubba45 » 03 Feb 2011 11:57

Could be one of a number of things:

1. is there definitely a stylus on the cantilever of the cartridge?

2. is the cartridghe itself still working?

3. Could be the wires inside the arm / TT have snapped / become loose.

Did the person who gave you the TT have it working before?

With the amp what make, model & age is it? Have you or anyone else ever plugged a TT into it before?