the home of the turntable

Is the Audio-Technica AT90E a quality phonograph cartridge?

the thin end of the wedge

Is the Audio-Technica AT90E a quality phonograph cartridge?

Postby KStewart2012 » 11 Sep 2010 15:36

I've been slowly setting up my Technics SL-D2 phonograph. Attached to the headshell is a Audio-Technica AT90E cartridge (stylus still attached). I am wondering several things. Is the AT90E a quality cartridge? Since my phonograph is used, would it make more sense to buy a replacement stylus for the AT90E or simply a new cartridge all together?

I am very new to the understanding of the phonograph world, and through my research, I've tried to determine a few quality p-arm cartridges for my model. Does anyone have any suggestions at a low to mid price level?
KStewart2012

Postby sreten » 11 Sep 2010 16:12

Hi,

Consider : http://www.vinylengine.com/turntable_forum/viewtopic.php?t=29885

http://www.lpgear.com/Merchant2/merchan ... ATSAT0090E

Its an AT11E by another name and good cartridge, but not as good
as the ADC, buy a new stylus or go for the Shibata upgrade are
the other options IMO.

rgds, sreten.
sreten

Postby KStewart2012 » 11 Sep 2010 18:47

Thanks so much, Sreten. That's an amazing deal. On the ADC QLM 34 MKIII phono cartridge, do I need to worry about the installation on the Technics SL-D2 tonearm? On my SL-D2 manual, it says its applicable cartridge weight range is between 6g-9.5g and between 13.5g-17g (including headshell weight).

I have a P-mount headshell that has four terminals at the back that simply plug in to the end of the tone arm. The cartridge + headshell then secure to the tone arm with a single locking screw. Will that phono cartridge work with my model, and will I be able to properly have the correct tonearm height/balance with what looks to be a slightly bigger cartidge than the AT90E? I don't believe my phonograph has the ability to set the tonearm height.
KStewart2012

Postby sreten » 11 Sep 2010 20:11

Hi,