the home of the turntable

Rewiring stock arm on late model EB101

american simplicity

Rewiring stock arm on late model EB101

Postby 4evernoob » 30 Jan 2010 10:30

I've searched high and low and can't find a 'guide' or 'how to' that would assist a complete novice in trying to rewire this tonearm.

I don't even know enough to ask the right questions, so I'll start with these:

1) Do I want to buy something like this?
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/CARDAS-33awg-LITZ ... 939wt_1154

...or, rather, loose like this?
http://www.partsconnexion.com/wire_tonearm_cardas.html

...or even with clips attached like this?
http://www.dedicatedaudio.com/inc/sdetail/8824

...or do I buy the headshell leads separately, like this?
http://www.needledoctor.com/Cardas-HSL- ... tegory=431

And what of the black ground wire?

Will I have to dissemble the tonearm? Leave it intact but remove it from the table?

What of all the chatter (regarding different arms entirely) of simply using the old wires to "pull" the new wires through the arm, without removing anything? (I suppose this would be "non-invasive" surgery...).

The ultimate question may just be: does anyone know whether this job is offered as a service, by professionals, and could I have it done without sending away my table (maybe just the arm)?

I'm 85% sure that I am incompetent to do this myself, but 100% certain of my incompetence without a very, VERY detailed set of instructions.

Sincerely,

Delusions of Grandeur

[PS -- To answer the implied question: I have to rewire the arm because there appears to be a short *and* two of the wires were broken during a move.]
4evernoob

rewire AR -Jelco Arm

Postby panman » 30 Jan 2010 13:24

I agree with B,
another option for a rewire is "Britaudio" out of N.C.,I had him rewire a RB-250 a few years back does a great job with Cardas.If I remember his name is Mike,great guy,cool site.Sells top products at great prices.
Pan
"All great deeds and all great thoughts have a ridiculous beginning."