the home of the turntable

my record player is too quiet...sorry im a noob

snap, crackle and pop

my record player is too quiet...sorry im a noob

Postby fanofthefloyd » 27 Sep 2009 20:23

ok guys. just started this record thing and just started on this forum so excuse my ignorances. i have my record player hooked up to my reciever. Now when i have my ipod hooked up to it...its loud as crap when its turned up half way. Now when the record player, my pioneer pl514, is hooked up, i have to turn it up all the way. Now when it is turned up all the way it's pretty loud but NO where near as loud as it should be turned all the way up. What is the deal? what should I do? any suggestions?
fanofthefloyd

Postby zenith2134 » 27 Sep 2009 20:50

Hey..... digital recordings tend to " push the envelope " in terms of peak amplitude.....at the price of (sometimes) eliminating all dynamic range and adding clipping to the programme.

Sure redbook CD, as a format, has better dynamic range than vinyl but in practice this is rarely the situation.
zenith2134

Postby analogous » 27 Sep 2009 20:57

I assume your receiver has a phono stage.

The problem, as zenith points out, is that digital formats tend to be recorded much louder than vinyl.

I assume you use a MM cart. You could try a cart with higher output, like Stanton.
analogous

Postby Beltway » 27 Sep 2009 22:15

Just to keep things simple, is it plugged into your receiver's inputs marked "phono"?
Beltway

Postby LousyTourist » 27 Sep 2009 22:34

few if any receivers nowadays have phono inputs. Dollar to donuts yours doesn't, and that's why you can't get any volume out of your turntable.

Go to radio shack, pick up their $30 phono stage, and another set of RCA cables, and insert the phono stage between your turntable and the input jacks you're using on your receiver. The phono stage will probably have a diagram of how it should be used.