the home of the turntable

Technics Sl-Q33

turning japanese

Technics SL-Q33

Postby missthedudeman » 02 Sep 2009 16:51

I ordered a ART DJ Pre II Phono Preamp for it. I've heard this is a very good preamp, even though I am not a DJ of any kind. I am new to direct drives, and turntables in general. The preamp is making a humming noise. I have a couple 10" records and the tonearm keeps going backwards when I play it. It's hard to set it down. I'm guessing there's something I'm doing wrong. Can someone please help me out? I've gone through so many record players lately, but maybe it's just 'cause I'm stupid. And I am tired of these record player woes. Please explain in lamence terms.
missthedudeman

Postby Chiltern » 02 Sep 2009 17:58

Hi, I think that you are going to have to explain your problems in more detail.

The hum with the Pre amp may just be because the seperate screen lead from the deck is disconnected, also do check the contacts on the Headshell if the deck has been in storage for some time.

I don't quite understand the problems with the arm going backwards! The SL-Q33 is a fully automatic deck that can be used manually. When it is working properly it can size a 10in record, no problem, unless they are transparent, the SL-Q33 has an optical sizing system.

Alan
Chiltern
contributor

Great Britain

Postby missthedudeman » 02 Sep 2009 18:10